Users like you have given feedback on this thread:
To give your opinion, vote using the thumbs above.
To give your opinion, vote using the thumbs above.
Share this thread on the web:
Share this thread by Email:
Click here
del.icio.us
StumbleUpon
Google Bookmarks
Technorati
reddit |
Yahoo! My Web
Facebook
AOL IM
|
Share this thread by Email:
Click here
Should I check into this more....
I do nearly all my banking with BoA - checking, savings, mortgage, auto loan, brokerage, etc, and I also use their online banking portal quite a bit.
Well I was perplexed when I received an email saying that my new credit card was on its way and I could activate it online! Now I *did* have a BoA CC a number of years ago, but haven't had one in a long time. The email was sent to someone with my same last name but a different first name (although the first letter of the first name is the same), although my email address is my: first name.initial.last name. So, I find it unlikely that the address was accidentally entered.
I called BoA within an hour of getting the email and talk to the fraud dept - they say there is no record of any CC or an application under my name or SS#, and cross-referencing the name given in the email and the last 4 digits of the account # (all that was listed in the email), yields zero results. Checking online, there are no credit accounts in my profile, and checking the status of credit applications (generic link in their site where you enter your SS#, and some other generic info) also gives zero results for credit apps under my SS#.
You're thinking - this is a phishing scheme, right? I don't think so - all the links in the email point to variants of bankofamerica.com. That was the CSR's best idea.
I'll certainly be watching my online account - what could have caused this? Is there anything else I should do? I'm not sure who else @ BoA I could try to contact - I had hoped that they'd be able to look up the other name and last 4 digits and say "oh yeah somehow the email address is wrong", but "we have no record of this" doesn't give me warm fuzzies.
Well I was perplexed when I received an email saying that my new credit card was on its way and I could activate it online! Now I *did* have a BoA CC a number of years ago, but haven't had one in a long time. The email was sent to someone with my same last name but a different first name (although the first letter of the first name is the same), although my email address is my: first name.initial.last name. So, I find it unlikely that the address was accidentally entered.
I called BoA within an hour of getting the email and talk to the fraud dept - they say there is no record of any CC or an application under my name or SS#, and cross-referencing the name given in the email and the last 4 digits of the account # (all that was listed in the email), yields zero results. Checking online, there are no credit accounts in my profile, and checking the status of credit applications (generic link in their site where you enter your SS#, and some other generic info) also gives zero results for credit apps under my SS#.
You're thinking - this is a phishing scheme, right? I don't think so - all the links in the email point to variants of bankofamerica.com. That was the CSR's best idea.
I'll certainly be watching my online account - what could have caused this? Is there anything else I should do? I'm not sure who else @ BoA I could try to contact - I had hoped that they'd be able to look up the other name and last 4 digits and say "oh yeah somehow the email address is wrong", but "we have no record of this" doesn't give me warm fuzzies.






del.icio.us






