Forum Thread
T-Mobile Discounts, Deals and Coupon Codes

4G speed on T-Mobile Galaxy S II (SGH-T989)

shyam09 5,985 2,814 September 6, 2012 at 12:14 AM More T-Mobile Deals
So i got a T-Mobile version SII (the phone has the T-Mobile Logo on it, and so does the box.). I signed up for the value plan w/ 2GB unlimited data (4G speeds until 2GBs, then it drops to 2G speeds)

I just did a speedtest, disabled my wifi, enabled my mobile data) and tried my speed and the highest i can get is about 4 kB/s. this is definitely not 4G speed. I contacted T-Mobile support, and they were no help to me, they just said that the phone connects to 4G automatically. So then i thought it might be my location, but upon checking my coverage I'm in the "excellent" area.

I think it might be my settings, but I have no idea now. Dont know if this makes a difference but speedtest reports I'm using "EDGE" network... wifi works nicely w/ about 15 Mbps speed

Interestingly, when i have 2G enabled, my download speeds are barely higher (4.7 kB/s --> 14.7 kB/s (2G is enabled))

Here are my settings:
Data Enabled (Check)
Data Roaming (uncheck)
National Data Roaming (uncheck)
Network Mode (GSM (selected) // LTE/GSM (unselected))
Access Point Names:
(Options: Simple / Straight-Talk Mobile / T-Mobile US (T-Mo selected)
Network Operator / Available Networks: (AT&T, T-Mobile)

I am running CM9.1 on my T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy SII, SGH-T989 (rooted)
Plan: Value Plan with Unlimited Data w/ 2GB cap for high speed.

just tried what LTE/GSM would do, and it seems like it gave me a little more speed increase, now at 114 kB/s, the network was Cell...
tried the GSM option again, and i got 235 kB/s with the network being HSPA.

The time was 11 PM PDT

Also chatted with a t mobile rep, but all she told me was that the phone connects to the 4G network automatically... (btw is the value plan unlimited "2GB" plan @ 4G speeds. it doesn't really specify.

thanks Smilie

23 Comments

1 2

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

#2
Quote from shyam09 View Post :
So i got a T-Mobile version SII (the phone has the T-Mobile Logo on it, and so does the box.). I signed up for the value plan w/ 2GB unlimited data (4G speeds until 2GBs, then it drops to 2G speeds)

I just did a speedtest, disabled my wifi, enabled my mobile data) and tried my speed and the highest i can get is about 4 kB/s. this is definitely not 4G speed. I contacted T-Mobile support, and they were no help to me, they just said that the phone connects to 4G automatically. So then i thought it might be my location, but upon checking my coverage I'm in the "excellent" area.

I think it might be my settings, but I have no idea now. Dont know if this makes a difference but speedtest reports I'm using "EDGE" network... wifi works nicely w/ about 15 Mbps speed

Interestingly, when i have 2G enabled, my download speeds are barely higher (4.7 kB/s --> 14.7 kB/s (2G is enabled))

Here are my settings:
Data Enabled (Check)
Data Roaming (uncheck)
National Data Roaming (uncheck)
Network Mode (GSM (selected) // LTE/GSM (unselected))
Access Point Names:
(Options: Simple / Straight-Talk Mobile / T-Mobile US (T-Mo selected)
Network Operator / Available Networks: (AT&T, T-Mobile)

I am running CM9.1 on my T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy SII, SGH-T989 (rooted)
Plan: Value Plan with Unlimited Data w/ 2GB cap for high speed.

just tried what LTE/GSM would do, and it seems like it gave me a little more speed increase, now at 114 kB/s, the network was Cell...
tried the GSM option again, and i got 235 kB/s with the network being HSPA.

The time was 11 PM PDT

Also chatted with a t mobile rep, but all she told me was that the phone connects to the 4G network automatically... (btw is the value plan unlimited "2GB" plan @ 4G speeds. it doesn't really specify.

thanks Smilie
There should be a spot in settings to see your current connections settings (what type of network you are connected to and its signal strength), I don't have my phone in to the office to look. It very well could be you are only connected to 2g right now I had a samsung phone who's radio was out of line with the software and would only connect to 2g until i reflashed. I would also go back to stock for the time being and see what happens as it could be a bug with your radio or cm. It could also be their tower, there is nothing saying that that they have 4g at your current location, have you tried it in different locations?

Also your phone does not support LTE 4G that you see in all the ads, instead it only supports HSPA+ which is just a faster form of the GSM 3G.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
....


...
Joined Dec 2008
L10: Grand Master
6,316 Posts
1,470 Reputation
#3
My phone shows in the top bar the connection speed 4g, 3g, or 1x (im on Verizon) with droid 4
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
#4
Quote from nizzy1115 View Post :
My phone shows in the top bar the connection speed 4g, 3g, or 1x (im on Verizon) with droid 4
A quick google search show's the OP's phone does not show 3G just 2G and 4G even though they are connected to 3G and not HSPA+
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Dec 2008
L10: Grand Master
6,316 Posts
1,470 Reputation
#5
Quote from mrbobhcrhs View Post :
A quick google search show's the OP's phone does not show 3G just 2G and 4G even though they are connected to 3G and not HSPA+
What google did you use?

I used usa google and top results

http://www.intomobile.com/2011/09...laxy-s-ii/

Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Aug 2005
L10: Grand Master
12,661 Posts
4,824 Reputation
Pro
#6
Are you in an area where you know you actually receive a 4G signal?
What program are you doing a speedtest with?
Is this a phone you got directly from tMobile?

T-Mobile doesn't have true 4G, the fastest it offers is HSPA+ which is GSM technology.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Last edited by LiquidRetro September 6, 2012 at 06:24 AM
Vague questions receive vague answers . . . . . .
#7
Quote from nizzy1115 View Post :
What google did you use?

I used usa google and top results

http://www.intomobile.com/2011/09...laxy-s-ii/

I was just reading some xda forums about people asking why they never see the 3G logo and if the phone supports 3G.

OP you want to find this in your settings
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Dec 2008
L10: Grand Master
6,316 Posts
1,470 Reputation
#8
Quote from mrbobhcrhs View Post :
I was just reading some xda forums about people asking why they never see the 3G logo and if the phone supports 3G.

OP you want to find this in your settings
Thats not even a tmobile phone. Its CDMA verizon.

This happens when it drops the network totally.

It used to happen a ton on my old phone. Would need to either reboot or airplane mode for a few seconds and then back out of airplane mode to normal mode and it would connect again.

In my experience if no connection speed is listed you have no connection.

OP what do you see in your bar?
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

#9
Quote from nizzy1115 View Post :
Thats not even a tmobile phone. Its CDMA verizon.

This happens when it drops the network totally.

It used to happen a ton on my old phone. Would need to either reboot or airplane mode for a few seconds and then back out of airplane mode to normal mode and it would connect again.

In my experience if no connection speed is listed you have no connection.

OP what do you see in your bar?
Yea I know that is VZ but its what I found an image of, and if he goes to settings -> status he should see something like it and it will tell him what he is connected to.

edit: here
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Nov 2011
Your Humble SD Servant
5,985 Posts
2,814 Reputation
Original Poster
#10
ok i took a screenshot, and use the application Netmonitor to confirm it. It seems my signal strength is about -105 dBm
my network switches from HSPA to UMTS and momentarily to HSPA+

I use the speedtest.net application

* also tried to run the speedtest again, I get 121 kB/s download ad 26.9 kB/s upload with 120 ms Ping. The server is "Cell"

I'll try on another SII (but with T-Mobile's ICS on it)and see the results.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Last edited by shyam09 September 6, 2012 at 08:06 AM
#11
Quote from shyam09 View Post :
ok i took a screenshot, and use the application Netmonitor to confirm it. It seems my signal strength is about -105 dBm
my network switches from HSPA to UMTS and momentarily to HSPA+

I use the speedtest.net application

* also tried to run the speedtest again, I get 121 kB/s download ad 26.9 kB/s upload with 120 ms Ping. The server is "Cell"

I'll try on another SII (but with T-Mobile's ICS on it)and see the results.
well that would be why your phone is so slow its on 2g/3g never connects to the faster enhanced 3g's hspa+
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Nov 2011
Your Humble SD Servant
5,985 Posts
2,814 Reputation
Original Poster
#12
Quote from mrbobhcrhs View Post :
well that would be why your phone is so slow its on 2g/3g never connects to the faster enhanced 3g's hspa+
i wonder if it's the radio. I'm on 4.0.4 with T989 UVLE1 radio...
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
#13
Quote from shyam09 View Post :
i wonder if it's the radio. I'm on 4.0.4 with T989 UVLE1 radio...
maybe you would have to check rootzwiki or xda. Are you sure you get good HSPA+ signal in the area? Their HSPA+ coverage is not as good as their 3G.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
#14
It could simply be that Tmobile is lying to you and there isn't much coverage for 4g in your area. My wife never got a connection with TM unless she left her house and crossed the street.

As for 4g speeds, Tmobile is not real 4g. You won't be ever doing much better than 4-5 Mbps through.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Aug 2005
L10: Grand Master
12,661 Posts
4,824 Reputation
Pro
#15
Quote from mrbobhcrhs View Post :
maybe you would have to check rootzwiki or xda. Are you sure you get good HSPA+ signal in the area? Their HSPA+ coverage is not as good as their 3G.
My bet is it's a signal/location issue, especially if the phone is stock from Tmobile. It might be worth a visit to a store if not since it could be radio related too.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Page 1 of 2
1 2
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Copyright 1999 - 2016. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard