Frontpage Deal
Best Buy Discounts, Deals and Coupon Codes

MetroPCS LG Optimus F6 4G LTE No-Contract Smartphone EXPIRED

wacou 329 539 June 22, 2014 at 07:40 AM in Tech & Electronics (4) More Best Buy Deals
Sorry, this deal has expired. Get notified of deals like this in the future. Add Deal Alert for this Item
Deal
Score
+75
148,717 Views
See Deal
$80

Deal Details

Promoted 06-24-2014 by yuugotserved at 10:04 AM View Original Post
Update: This is now available for shipping again.

Best Buy has MetroPCS LG Optimus F6 4G LTE No-Contract Smartphone on sale for $79.99. Shipping is free. Thanks wacou

Specs:
  • 1.2GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 Plus Dual Core CPU
  • 1GB RAM
  • 4GB Internal Memory
  • 4.5" 960x540 Display w/ 5MP Rear and 1.3MP Front Cameras
  • 2040mAh Battery
  • Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean)
Price Comparison: Our research indicates that this MetroPCS LG Optimus F6 4G LTE No-Contract Smartphone is $19 lower (19% savings) than the next best available price from a reputable merchant with prices starting from $99 - yuugotserved
Share

Original Post

Edited June 28, 2014 at 10:21 PM by wacou
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/metro...Id=5249076


I did a quick comparison of LG F6 vs L70, hope attached photo might help.
Is it worth extra $30, I don't know...... I love both, but its your choice...

Following features are MISSING in L70 in comparison to F6
1. Faster Qualcomm CPU ( MSM8930 vs MSM8610 - both on dual core )
2. 960x540 ( actually, L70's 800x480 is NOT all that bad. Bigger text for me )
3. 1.3mp front camera ( skype video.. but again, not that important to me)
4. NFC ( faster file exchange between phone and tablet. ISIS payment )
5. IR control ( I use this for quick TV volume, not all that useful )
6. message/ Charging LED ( * this is EXTREMELY important for those who need to sit through meeting all the times. Blinking LED-Ring on Home button does helps )
7. LED menu key ( nope, no led/light on L70. Its is "printed on". )
8. 4G LTE ( I am on MVNO, so this is not an issue for me as long as I don't travel oversea. See below )
9. Larger Battery Size ( no clue, just yet. L70 got 15% less juice )
10. OSP ( I volunteer at a senior charity group, teaching the elderly how to use android phone and tablet. Enable to mirror image of my phone on the projector is useful )
11. Video recording ( HD vs 800x480 ONLY on L70 ) - also does NOT play HD movie!
12. LG F6 MS500 and D500 on 4.1.2 / LG L70-MS323 on 4.4.2

Frequency test via Engineer Menu:
1. at dial pad key in 3845 # * 323 # ( for LG L70 MS323 )
3845 # * 500 # ( for LG F6 D500 / MS 500 )
2. Select WCDMA-Only
3. Select Modem Settings
4. Network Mode
5. Press all listed frequency, if the hardware does NOT support that pariticular frequency, it will display "FAIL".

Thus, following information has been confirmed

PLEASE DO REMEMBER to select "AUTOMATIC" after you done with the test!!! ( tks the reminder from GaiaGeek ).

L70:
2G Quadband
3G WCDMA 850,1900, AWS ( NO 2100, might be an issue for oversea travel who might need at least 3G connection )

F6:
2G Quadband
3G WCDMA 850, 1900, 2100 + AWS
4G 700, 1900, AWS

Without root, both can install app on external SD card if you able to use ADB Fastboot and set [adb shell pm set-Install-Location 2]
If you purchase something through a post on our site, Slickdeals may get a small share of the sale.
About the OP
Give Rep Send Message
wacou Pro
Bellevue, WA Joined Dec 2009 Smart Shopper
539 Reputation Points
16 Deals Posted
219 Votes Submitted
329 Comments Posted

Community Wiki

Last Edited by crippledgiant July 1, 2014 at 01:05 PM
ROOT and Recovery :
http://androidcreations.weebly.com/root-and-2nd-init-cwm-recovery.html

1 Custom ROM Available :
http://androidforums.com/metropcs-optimus-f6-all-things-root/845332-rom-ms500-f6-xperion-rom.html


Available in MetroPCS coverage areas only

Stores not in MetroPCS area do not carry this phone. Even if you order online, if you are not in a MetroPCS area then your order will most likely be cancelled.

=========================================================

$1.40 unlock. Many including myself have used it. Have unlocked a few L70's and F6's. [unlockscout.com]

Confirmed that my unlock code from the above worked Smilie ( Kevingattaca ) took less than 10 mins to get code
Confirmed 7-1-14- Had to turn off Norton Internet Security to get pay page to load.
To unlock:
No sim in phone.
Dial 2945#*500# PRESS SEND
Go to Service Provider Unlock
Enter the SP_Lock code.


For everyone here that's a new owner of this phone with questions on root, de-bloating, custom ROMs, etc., this should be your new home for all such questions, answers and guides:

http://androidforums.com/metropcs...ings-root/

Please look there as most questions you have are probably already answered.


ADD TO THIS THREAD IF BUYING THE PHONE:
http://forum.cyanogenmod.com/topi...ptimus-f6/
A quick post is enough, this phone has been on sale frequently and is better than the L9, so show you want CyanogenMod support for it!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
$99 at Amazon - LG Optimus F6 (MetroPCS) @ Amazon [amazon.com]
Report BestBuy's lower price to Amazon using the "tell us about a lower price" link on the product page, if enough of us report then Amazon will PM to BB.

Thanks.

529 Comments

1 2 3 4 5

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

Joined Sep 2011
L5: Journeyman
615 Posts
244 Reputation
Pro
#4
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
#5
is it same as Tmobile F6?
can it be unlocked to other GSM service?
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Dec 2009
Smart Shopper
329 Posts
539 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#6
Quote from pingsfriend View Post :
is it same as Tmobile F6?
can it be unlocked to other GSM service?
Same hardware spec.
Metropcs has its own software, but LESS "bloatware" comparing to T-mobile.
And yes, it can be unlocked for less than $2.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Jan 2006
L10: Grand Master
7,501 Posts
3,744 Reputation
#7
Quote from pingsfriend View Post :
is it same as Tmobile F6?
can it be unlocked to other GSM service?
not the same. you can unlock it and use it with t-mobile or other GSM providers
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
#8
Quote from screenname View Post :
not the same. you can unlock it and use it with t-mobile or other GSM providers
but after unlock for T-mobile will LTE work?
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
#9
Quote from gotojanoo View Post :
but after unlock for T-mobile will LTE work?
Yes. MetroPCS and T-Mobile use the same network (MetroPCS is owned by T-Mobile).

It also has 700MHz LTE, so if you can get it unlocked, it should work great on AT&T/Cricket and their MVNOs, too.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Jan 2007
L10: Grand Master
12,985 Posts
633 Reputation
#10
Quote from gotojanoo View Post :
but after unlock for T-mobile will LTE work?
of course!
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

#11
Quote from Volaris View Post :
Yes. MetroPCS and T-Mobile use the same network (MetroPCS is owned by T-Mobile).

It also has 700MHz LTE, so if you can get it unlocked, it should work great on AT&T/Cricket and their MVNOs, too.
Thanks

Quote from cgigate View Post :
of course!
Thanks.Now let me see how much for unlock on ebay. worship
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Last edited by gotojanoo June 22, 2014 at 08:47 AM
#12
This is great deal, better than other f6 deals
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Jan 2006
L10: Grand Master
7,501 Posts
3,744 Reputation
#13
Quote from gotojanoo View Post :
but after unlock for T-mobile will LTE work?
Yes, I am using mine with T-mobile $30 5GB, unlimited text, 100 minutes prepaid plan.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
#14
Quote from screenname View Post :
Yes, I am using mine with T-mobile $30 5GB, unlimited text, 100 minutes prepaid plan.
Great.Just bought it with gift card and final came 56 bucks, Local store still close though Smilie
BTW did u rooted?
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Jan 2006
L10: Grand Master
7,501 Posts
3,744 Reputation
#15
Quote from gotojanoo View Post :
Great.Just bought it with gift card and final came 56 bucks, Local store still close though Smilie
BTW did u rooted?
Yes, I rooted all my phones if they are rootable.
http://androidforums.com/metropcs...d-12b.html
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Page 1 of 36
1 2 3 4 5
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Copyright 1999 - 2016. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard