Forum Thread

How to get Google Photos to automatically delete photos and videos from device once backed up?

Brian1 6,233 1,370 August 6, 2015 at 11:34 PM
Is there a way to set Google Photos to automatically delete the photo or video off of the phone once it's been backed up to the cloud or do I need to manually delete them from the phone?

If I do manually delete them, can I rest assured that they will remain in the cloud in Google Photos until I delete them from Photos?

4 Comments

1

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

Joined Aug 2005
L10: Grand Master
12,661 Posts
4,824 Reputation
Pro
#2
Easy enough to test. . . . but I remember reading when it first came out that if you deleted the photo in the Google Photos app on the backed up device it would also delete from the cloud. It may have changed. Your local gallery is different I think.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Vague questions receive vague answers . . . . . .
Joined Sep 2005
L10: Grand Master
6,233 Posts
1,370 Reputation
Original Poster
#3
Quote from LiquidRetro View Post :
Easy enough to test
True. Yesterday I deleted a few pictures from the phone's gallery. I wanted to give Photos plenty of time to sync to see if those pictures would stay in Photos or if they would be deleted along with the ones from the phones gallery. Today, those pictures are still in Photos. So, I feel comfortable with deleting them from the phone since they will remain in Photos.

But, the bigger question still remains. Is there a way to set Photos to automatically delete pictures and videos from the phone once they've been backed up?
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Aug 2005
L10: Grand Master
12,661 Posts
4,824 Reputation
Pro
#4
Quote from Brian1 View Post :
True. Yesterday I deleted a few pictures from the phone's gallery. I wanted to give Photos plenty of time to sync to see if those pictures would stay in Photos or if they would be deleted along with the ones from the phones gallery. Today, those pictures are still in Photos. So, I feel comfortable with deleting them from the phone since they will remain in Photos.

But, the bigger question still remains. Is there a way to set Photos to automatically delete pictures and videos from the phone once they've been backed up?
Not that I know of. I end up using Dropbox and photos so I have 2 backed up copies. Then I can.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Sep 2005
L10: Grand Master
6,233 Posts
1,370 Reputation
Original Poster
#5
Quote from LiquidRetro View Post :
Not that I know of. I end up using Dropbox and photos so I have 2 backed up copies. Then I can.
There's some chatter out there about this being able to be done (automatically delete local copies upon backup). This website [bgr.com] says that this is one of five hidden or unknown features of Google Photos. They claim it can be done, but they don't say how to do it. Apparently this feature is still hidden and unknown to them as well.

I've searched extensively on the web and I've played around with quite a bit of the apps options and settings to no avail. But, I did just come across this article from Google that does confirm that local copies on the phone can safely be deleted as soon as they show up in Photos.

The article says you can either delete the local pictures through your phone's gallery or through Photos and they'll still remain safe in Photos:

Clear space on your mobile device -> Android app [google.com]

But, it goes on to explain how doing it through Photos may not be as effective as doing it through the phone's gallery if some of the pictures are stored on a removable SD card. But, since my phone doesn't have expandable memory, I'll just manually delete them through Photos.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Last edited by Brian1 August 7, 2015 at 02:34 PM
Page 1 of 1
1
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Copyright 1999 - 2016. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard