Forum Thread

thumbs up or down

deal240 477 February 22, 2016 at 12:47 PM
Why does a thumbs down only reduce the total number by 1, but a thumbs up increases the total number by two? It appears to be rigged so the numbers are inflated.
Also, about half the time that I use either one from the mobile app on Android, when I exit the app and return later my activities have been erased and I can do it over again (from the exact same post)?

1 Comments

1

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

Joined Jul 2014
L4: Apprentice
370 Posts
62 Reputation
Staff
#2
If you thumb down an item, it subtracts from the original total by one. If you then thumb up the same item, it adds to the original total by one, which makes it seem like it is adding by two. If you thumb up a deal you have never thumbed down, it increases only by one.

Now, sometimes the app will show a slightly incorrect figure because it hasn't synced with the server. We want the app to call the server and sync vote scores only when you submit a new vote. Otherwise the app is making too many calls to the server for the most up-to-date info and it will slow performance for you. So this means that if you see a value and vote it up, sometimes you may see the reflection of the additional votes that have come in between your vote and the last server call.

As far as your activities being erased, that should not happen. If you could give us more info about how that is happening to you, we will investigate further.

Let me know if all the above makes sense - thanks!
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 0
Page 1 of 1
1
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Copyright 1999 - 2016. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard