Forum Thread
Amazon Discounts, Deals and Coupon Codes

Amazon posting deceptive product reviews for different items under same review count

suprcharg 1,058 111 May 25, 2016 at 02:25 PM in Request (2) More Amazon Deals
Deal
Score
+1
2,354 Views

Thread Details

I'm looking for advice.
I am unbelievably frustrated with seeing multiple items listed under the same reviews.
For example; http://smile.amazon.com/Tera-Elec...pet+feeder
The above link is to a auto pet feeder I was looking at buying today. The product title AND ALL the reviews are for pet mats that you typically set food dishes on. So, what happened was the seller was selling mats and then decided to toss this generic mediocre pet feeder in with the mats. If I wasn't paying attention, i would have just thought, Oh, 24 4.5 star reviews on this feeder, Great! I have this feeder (it just broke) it is under another generic name just like several others on the site. This is a scam!
Another example is this tape gun I wanted to buy this morning; http://smile.amazon.com/Uline-H-1...e+tape+gun
There are 2 models under the same 433 4.5 star reviews. Unless you scroll through 400 reviews you will never know which one the reviews are related to. I spent 1.5 hours with customer service. Either I was told what I wanted to hear and it was brushed under the rug, I was hung up on or, the supervisor Kadisha A. gould have given 2 shits less. I am now waiting on a call from the manager. What do you bet that it never comes?
Am I the only one who feels taken advantage of? Am I blowing this out of proportion? I post this here because I figure its the best chance I have about coming up with a direction to move to.
Don't have Amazon Prime? Students can get a free 6-Month Amazon Prime trial with free 2-day shipping, unlimited music, unlimited video streaming & more. If you're not a student, there's also a free 1-Month Amazon Prime trial available.

16 Comments

1 2

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

#2
Hi, it may help if you sort the reviews. Either click "x customer reviews" on the top of the screen or scroll down to the customer review graph and click "See all x customer reviews" directly below the graph.
Now you can sort and filter the reviews. I hope that this helps.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Last edited by CathyJ5155 May 25, 2016 at 05:42 PM
Joined Oct 2006
L6: Expert
1,058 Posts
111 Reputation
Original Poster
#3
I don't see how that sorts the reviews?
It is also beside the point I'm trying to make Smilie
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
#4
I just see the review with ""Verified Purchase" and voted helpful by others.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Oct 2006
L6: Expert
1,058 Posts
111 Reputation
Original Poster
#5
Quote from Dahle View Post :
I just see the review with ""Verified Purchase" and voted helpful by others.
Dahle.
I don't see what you are getting at there.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
#6
this is a point well talken , I am a small reseller of vintage audio, I alway looked at amozon forvtools and somevtimes parts for old Marantz. after getting scammed on tools , bench supplies, and even parts from 3 rd party sellers ; I am coming to the conclusion that the system is fir reviews in basied, not entirely truthful, an on occasion outright false.even many years in the retail sector was not enough for all the new type of online scams that are on amazon. I agree that they are putting profits before quailiy and customer service. and many of the so called reviews are bogus.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Oct 2006
L6: Expert
1,058 Posts
111 Reputation
Original Poster
#7
They've just completely snubbed me and brushed it under the rug. no contact via email or phone call as they said. Its just unbelievable.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Jan 2006
Master of My Domain
4,133 Posts
861 Reputation
#8
It's blatant fraud as far as I'm concerned, but I don't think there's any hope of changing it. None of the people you communicate with via Amazon's chat or email even work for Amazon. They work for a 3rd party (overseas) that is contracted by Amazon to handle customer service. The funny thing is that even as an Amazon employee my wife has no access to the people who makes these decisions either. Everything is very compartmentalized at Amazon so each department at each warehouse essentially operates within a bubble. Somewhere in Seattle there is someone that coded this and someone above him made the decision to do so. And news that customers are complaining will never even reach the only person(s) that can undo the practice.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

Joined Oct 2006
L6: Expert
1,058 Posts
111 Reputation
Original Poster
#9
Quote from ManUpOrShutUp View Post :
It's blatant fraud as far as I'm concerned, but I don't think there's any hope of changing it. None of the people you communicate with via Amazon's chat or email even work for Amazon. They work for a 3rd party (overseas) that is contracted by Amazon to handle customer service. The funny thing is that even as an Amazon employee my wife has no access to the people who makes these decisions either. Everything is very compartmentalized at Amazon so each department at each warehouse essentially operates within a bubble. Somewhere in Seattle there is someone that coded this and someone above him made the decision to do so. And news that customers are complaining will never even reach the only person(s) that can undo the practice.
It is blatant fraud! I honestly don't understand how they can get away with it. That is good to know (and not really surprising because of how they treated me) that I am dealing with useless 3rd party people so I can at least stop wasting my breath. I'll just have to hope that someone will take on the false advertising to incorporate change.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Dec 2004
Community Relations Manager
65,809 Posts
4,339 Reputation
Staff
#10
Quote from suprcharg View Post :
It is blatant fraud! I honestly don't understand how they can get away with it. That is good to know (and not really surprising because of how they treated me) that I am dealing with useless 3rd party people so I can at least stop wasting my breath. I'll just have to hope that someone will take on the false advertising to incorporate change.
Perhaps they did listen to you...

I just looked and see this:
Tera Electronic Portion Control-automatic Dry Food Pet Feeder 5.5L Capacity for Dogs and Cats Black
by Tera
Be the first to review this item


Good for you for making a change. Smilie
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 0
Joined Jan 2006
Master of My Domain
4,133 Posts
861 Reputation
#11
Quote from suprcharg View Post :
Another example is this tape gun I wanted to buy this morning; http://smile.amazon.com/Uline-H-1...e+tape+gun
There are 2 models under the same 433 4.5 star reviews. Unless you scroll through 400 reviews you will never know which one the reviews are related to. I spent 1.5 hours with customer service. Either I was told what I wanted to hear and it was brushed under the rug, I was hung up on or, the supervisor Kadisha A. gould have given 2 shits less. I am now waiting on a call from the manager. What do you bet that it never comes?
I know this is unrelated to the topic of your post, but I happen to own the H-157 model. It's a decent tape gun. My only complaint is that there isn't really any tension on the plastic piece that holds the tape, so sometimes the tape has to be fed back under. It works well otherwise and is fairly heavy duty. I got the item for free when I purchased $500+ worth of shelving directly from Uline.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Oct 2006
L6: Expert
1,058 Posts
111 Reputation
Original Poster
#12
Quote from Schooby View Post :
Perhaps they did listen to you...

I just looked and see this:
Tera Electronic Portion Control-automatic Dry Food Pet Feeder 5.5L Capacity for Dogs and Cats Black
by Tera
Be the first to review this item


Good for you for making a change.
Well, I'll be darned. That actually makes me feel a little better and that i didn't just waste hours of my time. Thanks Smilie
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Oct 2006
L6: Expert
1,058 Posts
111 Reputation
Original Poster
#13
Quote from ManUpOrShutUp View Post :
I know this is unrelated to the topic of your post, but I happen to own the H-157 model. It's a decent tape gun. My only complaint is that there isn't really any tension on the plastic piece that holds the tape, so sometimes the tape has to be fed back under. It works well otherwise and is fairly heavy duty. I got the item for free when I purchased $500+ worth of shelving directly from Uline.
I wound up getting the 150 model. Its absolutely amazing. The metal tab at the bottom makes certain that the tape will not feed back. Admittedly, I've only used it 4-5 times. But, I'm really kicking myself in the ass for having put up with the POS I had from Scotch before.
This all goes to prove my point about listing 2 different models under the same review count. People are being misled.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
#14
For a listing, you can filter to read “vertified purchase” reviews first, and then read the reviews left by some top reviewers, the higher rank the better. For some professional reviewer, they will left pros and cons for a product, so take suggestions from them.And you can also get suggestions from the review voted by by many people.
Lastly, just ingore some reviews like "good product""great" short comments. I hope it may help you a little
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Oct 2006
L6: Expert
1,058 Posts
111 Reputation
Original Poster
#15
Quote from FrankHsu View Post :
For a listing, you can filter to read "vertified purchase" reviews first, and then read the reviews left by some top reviewers, the higher rank the better. For some professional reviewer, they will left pros and cons for a product, so take suggestions from them.And you can also get suggestions from the review voted by by many people.
Lastly, just ingore some reviews like "good product""great" short comments. I hope it may help you a little
Thanks. But, my question was looking for a route to pursue regarding Amazon being careless posting completely different products or models under the same review count, thereby deceiving the consumer.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Page 1 of 2
1 2
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Copyright 1999 - 2016. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard