Popular Deal
Amazon Discounts, Deals and Coupon Codes

Free Amazon kindle books for June 16. Set of well-reviewed books (4+ stars and > 100 reviews)

weaver145 889 2,770 June 16, 2016 at 08:39 AM in eBooks (4) More Amazon Deals
Deal
Score
+58
5,141 Views
Get Deal

Deal Details

Last Edited by jersharocks June 17, 2016 at 09:01 AM
Free Amazon kindle books for June 16. Set of well-reviewed books (4+ stars and > 100 reviews) [amazon.com]

Thanks for all the love folks. Truly appreciated!

I offer these daily lists as a healthy alternative to the junk crap scam guides and coloring books that are peddled here daily by unscrupulous publishers. Please see the link below for more information about this:

Why does 100+ 4 star reviews matter? Simple. Amazon lists many thousands of books that regularly drop in price to "free". The vast majority of these books, however are nothing but trashy romance novels and worthless "how to" or "self-help" books and "box sets". Many of these guides are published with the express intent to defraud less savvy readers.

These free guides (with very few exceptions) seldom contain anything but transcribed public domain online content, recipes and articles lifted from sources like Wikipedia. [reddit.com] They are given catchy titles like "DiY Box Set of basket weaving" or "25 Amazing Tips to Lose Weight Fast" or "50 Best Crockpot Recipes Ever!" Or "ZenMasterDoodle adult coloring book" (containing nothing but public domain stock images) . These guides take literally minutes to package and publish. These publishers attribute the material to a fictitious author (often with a Western sounding name). They also frequently pay for fake 5 star reviews (or generate their own).

These brochures NEED free zero dollar "sales" so they can quickly increase their Amazon sales rank and get priority on the Amazon search filters. Once their sales rank crosses above a certain level, they switch the price to several dollars and lure unsuspecting buyers believing the 44 page double spaced x-large font brochure being sold as an "Ultimate box set" of books" is actually worth money. By the time the real copyright owners can react, the book is pulled from Amazon and the material gets a fresh stock cover photo and slightly new title under a different author.

Unfortunately many of these crappy guides are promoted here on SD daily - about as frequently as they are published - (most likely by the same people who publish and profit from their sales) . They recruit your time and your Amazon account to generate their free sales. Remember: when something is free on the internet, more often than not, YOU become the product.

Anyways, by focusing on 4 stars or more with 100 + reviews you avoid filling your library with this crap and also avoid becoming an unsuspecting party to the free ebook scam.

Please don't forget to come back and thumb this post up so I know there is interest in me posting. click "follow" for early notification when I post these deals as many do expire within minutes or hours of posting. Also it helps to counteract the multitude of thumbs down I get daily from these publishers who are seeing the SD effect diminished since I started my rants against their practices.

Public service announcement: If you like the kind of books I list (free books rated generally 4 stars or more and minimum of 100 reviews- with very few exceptions) and fear you may have missed some of my recent posts simply go here:

http://slickdeals.net/newsearch.php?searchuserid=153555&starteronly=1 and sort by newest

Many of the deals I have posted recently can still be obtained for free and can help you build quite a library of good reads on the cheap.


Thank you and Please support real authors and not scam artists.
Share
About the OP
Give Rep Send Message
Joined Nov 2006 L5: Journeyman
2,770 Reputation Points
54 Deals Posted
476 Votes Submitted
889 Comments Posted
Don't have Amazon Prime? Students can get a free 6-Month Amazon Prime trial with free 2-day shipping, unlimited music, unlimited video streaming & more. If you're not a student, there's also a free 1-Month Amazon Prime trial available.

Community Wiki

Last Edited by TattyBear July 11, 2016 at 01:39 PM
Users can also sign up for a free 30-day Audible trial [amazon.com] and get one free audiobook of their choosing.

12 Comments

1

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

Joined Oct 2005
valueamerica.com dayz
1,908 Posts
772 Reputation
#3
Thank you.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined May 2007
Mmmm. Any Slick Deals?!!
4,129 Posts
2,348 Reputation
Pro
#4
Quote from weaver145 View Post :

I offer these daily lists as a healthy alternative to the junk crap scam guides and coloring books that are peddled here daily by unscrupulous publishers. Please see the link below for more information about this:

Why does 100+ 4 star reviews matter? Simple. Amazon lists many thousands of books that regularly drop in price to "free". The vast majority of these books, however are nothing but trashy romance novels and worthless "how to" or "self-help" books and "box sets". Many of these guides are published with the express intent to defraud less savvy readers.



Unfortunately many of these crappy guides are promoted here on SD daily - about as frequently as they are published - (most likely by the same people who publish and profit from their sales) . They recruit your time and your Amazon account to generate their free sales. Remember: when something is free on the internet, more often than not, YOU become the product.

Anyways, by focusing on 4 stars or more with 100 + reviews you avoid filling your library with this crap and also avoid becoming an unsuspecting party to the free ebook scam.



Thank you and Please support real authors and not scam artists.
While I realize your intentions are genuine and appreciated, I would like to point out about 40% of your 4+ star books linked were at one point FREE on the forum with zero star ratings!

How do I know? I have regularly downloaded many of the so called junk/scam books you referred to at one point. I have a collection of over 8000+ Free books thanks to all the Free listings posted daily by members like yourself and a few other regular posters here on SD.

I have only paid for about a dozen books over the years. While the paid books are known and probably on NY TImes bestsellers list at one time and never free, the remaining 8000, were.

So, while I do appreciate you filtering out the 4+ star rated 100+ review books; just know, that they were, in fact, free at one point in the past here with zero stars or zero reviews and posted here by one of the other daily members who recently due to your posting get thumbs down. The 100+ reviews may actually be from other members who took the chance and time out to download, read and review these "junk/scam" books leading to the 100+ 4 star ratings you select.

Just thought you should know...
Reply Helpful Comment? 2 1
#5
Quote from hapollo View Post :
While I realize your intentions are genuine and appreciated, I would like to point out about 40% of your 4+ star books linked were at one point FREE on the forum with zero star ratings!

How do I know? I have regularly downloaded many of the so called junk/scam books you referred to at one point. I have a collection of over 8000+ Free books thanks to all the Free listings posted daily by members like yourself and a few other regular posters here on SD.

I have only paid for about a dozen books over the years. While the paid books are known and probably on NY TImes bestsellers list at one time and never free, the remaining 8000, were.

So, while I do appreciate you filtering out the 4+ star rated 100+ review books; just know, that they were, in fact, free at one point in the past here with zero stars or zero reviews and posted here by one of the other daily members who recently due to your posting get thumbs down. The 100+ reviews may actually be from other members who took the chance and time out to download, read and review these "junk/scam" books leading to the 100+ 4 star ratings you select.

Just thought you should know...
...junk/scam books....quick keys to look for...

The author...is he/she a real person (ie. an author's page on Amazon)

A boxset that less than 50 pages per book.

Does the list posted on SD contains ALL 'books' with reviews of less than 10?

If it's a poster that posts every day, does his/her list cover the same topics over and over?

If the poster(s) can't pass the above, just skip them or TD'd them to warn others.

BTW, has anyone else notice? One of these posters always has 1 TU when his topic is first posted (but never a comment). (I think he has a second acct. or a 'friend' here to give himself a TU!) But by the end of day his topic is negative.

Last Point: @junk/scam books downloading in the past...me too (since my library is way over 10,000). So, yes, I click on many links for books that I already own. But I see very few of the junk/scam books I have gotten in the past. How do I know? When I click on a book I already own, I look at it very closely to verify it's worth keeping in my library).
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Last edited by BladeD June 16, 2016 at 11:37 AM
#6
Quote from hapollo View Post :
While I realize your intentions are genuine and appreciated, I would like to point out about 40% of your 4+ star books linked were at one point FREE on the forum with zero star ratings!

How do I know? I have regularly downloaded many of the so called junk/scam books you referred to at one point. I have a collection of over 8000+ Free books thanks to all the Free listings posted daily by members like yourself and a few other regular posters here on SD.

I have only paid for about a dozen books over the years. While the paid books are known and probably on NY TImes bestsellers list at one time and never free, the remaining 8000, were.

So, while I do appreciate you filtering out the 4+ star rated 100+ review books; just know, that they were, in fact, free at one point in the past here with zero stars or zero reviews and posted here by one of the other daily members who recently due to your posting get thumbs down. The 100+ reviews may actually be from other members who took the chance and time out to download, read and review these "junk/scam" books leading to the 100+ 4 star ratings you select.

Just thought you should know...
They are free so take it or leave it. So happy you are ready got them but without this post, I never would be able to build my classics collection. If you can do a better post then do it otherwise bugger off.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Nov 2006
L5: Journeyman
889 Posts
2,770 Reputation
Original Poster
#7
Quote from BladeD View Post :
...junk/scam books....quick keys to look for...

The author...is he/she a real person (ie. an author's page on Amazon)

A boxset that less than 50 pages per book.

Does the list posted on SD contains ALL 'books' with reviews of less than 10?

If it's a poster that posts every day, does his/her list cover the same topics over and over?

If the poster(s) can't pass the above, just skip them or TD'd them to warn others.

BTW, has anyone else notice? One of these posters always has 1 TU when his topic is first posted (but never a comment). (I think he has a second acct. or a 'friend' here to give himself a TU!) But by the end of day his topic is negative.
BINGO ! thank you also please take the time to read this post on reddit

[URL="https://www.reddit.com/r/books/comments/3l1epw/how_to_scam_amazon_customers_out_of_100k_a_year/"]

While i recognize that many of the books i list here started off with 0 reviews (they all do if you roll back the clock), I do from time to time include books with fewer than 100 reviews and even some books with zero reviews (recent releases). I simply ask everyone to please stay away from the "Free" crap guides and coloring books that are published with the sole intent to defraud. By simply adding them to your library you are contributing to their sales rank and crowding out legitimate authors from the very crucial "top 100" daily lists at Amazon during their limited promotional window.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined May 2007
Mmmm. Any Slick Deals?!!
4,129 Posts
2,348 Reputation
Pro
#8
I'm not sure why everyone is getting bent out of shape as all I was pointing out not all Free books are junk/scams. And I did say intention are genuine and appreciated and appreciate you filtering for members.

However, many have been always been free previously

For example (3 of the items listed today and there are about 5 more):

A Charming Crime: Book One (Magical Cures Mystery Series 1)
https://slickdeals.net/newsearch.php?searchin=first&forumchoice%5B%5D=4&forumchoice%5B%5D=54&forumchoice%5B%5D=30&q=A+Charming+Crime%3A+Book+One+(Magical+Cures+Mystery+Series+1)&r=1

Truth about Butterflies:

https://slickdeals.net/newsearch.php?searchin=first&forumchoice%5B%5D=54&q=The+Truth+About+Butterflies&r=1


The Dream Jumpers.
https://slickdeals.net/newsearch.php?searchin=first&forumchoice%5B%5D=54&q=The+Dream+Jumper%27s+Promise&r=1


And by pointing this out today, OP has gotten more reps / thumbs up than normal and followers as a result. What's the harm?
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Last edited by hapollo June 16, 2016 at 12:33 PM
#9
Quote from hapollo View Post :
I'm not sure why everyone is getting bent out of shape as all I was pointing out not all Free books are junk/scams. And I did say intention are genuine and appreciated and appreciate you filtering for members.

However, many have been always been free previously

For example (3 of the items listed today and there are about 5 more):

A Charming Crime: Book One (Magical Cures Mystery Series 1)
https://slickdeals.net/newsearch.php?searchin=first&forumchoice%5B%5D=4&forumchoice%5B%5D=54&forumch...

Truth about Butterflies:

https://slickdeals.net/newsearch.php?searchin=first&forumchoice%5B%5D=54&q=The+Truth+About+Butterfli...

The Dream Jumpers.
https://slickdeals.net/newsearch.php?searchin=first&forumchoice%5B%5D=54&q=The+Dream+Jumper%27s+Prom...
It's definitely a good point. I think your years on SD, your total reps, & your rep to post ratio speak for themselves. You didn't get to this level by being a troll or a douche.

On a different tangent, did anyone notice that "Dubliners" (also posted many times before) offers "Add Audible narration to your purchase for just $3.49" or you can buy it outright as an audible book for $2.95. Just an amusing tangent reminding me to always check these things.

Also, there are over 25 Zane Grey Kindle books free right now. Not all of these meet the OP's requirements and there are 2 free versions of "Desert Gold". I just point this out since some of these come & go as freebies, but as an avid audiobook type, it's good to pick up Kindle versions for free as at some point the Audible version may be a low priced add on if you own the Kindle version or even free when the book is no longer free
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Last edited by sanders June 16, 2016 at 12:54 PM

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

#10
Thank You AGAIN for all of your time & work!!!!
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined May 2016
This is your one chance
297 Posts
69 Reputation
#11
Added 3 more to my collection, merci!

Hopefully I'll get to eventually read all of these Embarrassment
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Joined Apr 2009
How much can I save today
139 Posts
34 Reputation
#12
Quote from hapollo View Post :
I'm not sure why everyone is getting bent out of shape as all I was pointing out not all Free books are junk/scams. And I did say intention are genuine and appreciated and appreciate you filtering for members.

However, many have been always been free previously

For example (3 of the items listed today and there are about 5 more):

A Charming Crime: Book One (Magical Cures Mystery Series 1)
https://slickdeals.net/newsearch.php?searchin=first&forumchoice%5B%5D=4&forumchoice%5B%5D=54&forumchoice%5B%5D=30&q=A+Charming+Crime%3A+Book+One+(Magical+Cures+Mystery+Series+1)&r=1

Truth about Butterflies:

https://slickdeals.net/newsearch.php?searchin=first&forumchoice%5B%5D=54&q=The+Truth+About+Butterflies&r=1


The Dream Jumpers.
https://slickdeals.net/newsearch.php?searchin=first&forumchoice%5B%5D=54&q=The+Dream+Jumper%27s+Promise&r=1


And by pointing this out today, OP has gotten more reps / thumbs up than normal and followers as a result. What's the harm?

Wow. Some have been reposted a dozen times. Guess the lesson here is if you repost it by itself, you'll likely get thumbs down. Repost it bundled with a bunch of of reposts and you'll have a following and get lots of thumbs up. Time to gather some reposts bundled in one thread for y'all.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
#13
Thanx!
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Page 1 of 1
1
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Copyright 1999 - 2016. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard