PDA

View Full Version : Blocking of spyware site


JEFFJOHNVOL
04-21-2004, 11:30 AM
I have the spyware site doubleclick.net blocked. This site is used for banner ads and reports back viewing habits of the surfer. Everytime a doubleclick.net ad appears on Slickdeals.net I get a content advisor warning. Does anyone know how to prevent the warning without disabling content advisor?

Thanks.

HeyLookItsMe
04-21-2004, 05:06 PM
edit your hosts file so that the doubleclick url is routed to your localhost

JEFFJOHNVOL
04-21-2004, 05:58 PM
edit your hosts file so that the doubleclick url is routed to your localhost

Mark, thanks for the reply. Are you referring to a web server, or is that something I can do with MS explorer?

Jeff

HeyLookItsMe
04-21-2004, 09:59 PM
search on your local computer for the hosts file open it w/notepad... it has instructions on how to make new entries in it.

yeswarchief
04-21-2004, 10:18 PM
fyi

c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc

JEFFJOHNVOL
04-22-2004, 06:15 AM
search on your local computer for the hosts file open it w/notepad... it has instructions on how to make new entries in it.

Mark, that worked great. I may even use that to block my kid from Kazaa. Not that I'm opposed to file sharing, I just don't want to get sued by RIAA because of free brittany spears songs.

Thanks again.