PDA

View Full Version : Is this a spyware link? COD4 patch v1.6-1.7


vicariousgeorge
10-26-2011, 10:17 PM
Hi peoples,

I recently reformatted my PC and decided to reinstall COD4.

I had to patch the game from 1.0 to 1.6, and then from 1.6 to 1.7.

However, I'm not too sure about v1.7.

The patches are available at GameFront (FileFront). I've downloaded from them many times.
HOWEVER, the v1.7 patch should be ~40MB, but when downloaded from this link, the .exe is only ~100KB. Windows says the file is from a verified publisher (Traffic Space, LLC), but I went to their site and it looks really crappy. I also can't find much about them on google.

Is this a download client, or is it a veiled attempt to install spyware?

Here is the patch homepage (NOT a direct link to the file): http://www.gamefront.com/files/20222884

Here is the company: http://traffic-space.com/page.php?2

I found the patch elsewhere, but I just wanted to make sure GameFront isn't serving up spyware. (I installed the ~300MB v1.6 patch without issue)

dzap
10-27-2011, 12:05 AM
I actually can't load that site at all (http://traffic-space.com) yet I checked and it is accessible outside my network.

I am behind openDNS though which detects malware and stopping it from connecting, but I searched their database and found nothing (not classified yet), couldn't find anything on Google, and it's not blocked in-browser..I just can't physically access the site. Either my ISP or openDNS is blocking it.

I'm going to try my VPN and see if I can access it.

cgrady
10-27-2011, 12:50 AM
Looks like a downloader - I used 7zip to extract it and I get a little launcher with a few text files, one of which is DownloadURL.txt which contains the actual patch location:

http://media1.gamefront.com/pub22/Call_of_Duty_4_Modern_Warfare/Official_Patches/v17/CoD4MW-1.6-1.7-Patch_Setup.exe

vicariousgeorge
10-27-2011, 08:31 AM
I appreciate the help