View Full Version : Kaspersky or SD issue?
Schooby
03-28-2008, 11:44 AM
While trying to do a search I kept getting this pop-up from my anti-virus. http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/377/83498460xg2.gif
Any ideas as to why?
Schooby
03-28-2008, 11:50 AM
Grrrrrrrrrrrrr it's doing this often...
After I click on deny, this pops up. http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/8242/89528786kr1.gif
redsolar
03-28-2008, 02:38 PM
Kaspersky likes doing that. It's a known false positive. I would suggest adding us (slickdeals.net) to its whitelist, not much else that can be done
Schooby
03-28-2008, 02:48 PM
Kaspersky likes doing that. It's a known false positive. I would suggest adding us (slickdeals.net) to its whitelist, not much else that can be done
Ok, as long as someone else had this issue before too. I don't know why it just started doing this, it's highly annoying. I thought SD was in the "good" list. Maybe it did a recent update.
Thanks.
Wetworks
03-29-2008, 03:25 PM
Actually, I'm wondering if there is in fact a problem. Starting today, Trend Micro PCcillin gave me a red phishing warning. I closed my browser, went to my homepage then SD, same thing again.:confused:
slickdeals
03-29-2008, 07:41 PM
Actually, I'm wondering if there is in fact a problem. Starting today, Trend Micro PCcillin gave me a red phishing warning. I closed my browser, went to my homepage then SD, same thing again.:confused:
This is a different issue and we will be contacting Trend Micro when they open for business on Monday. We believe it is related to a recent incident where Paypal in all their wisdom thought that this thread (http://forums.slickdeals.net/showthread.php?t=768887) in question was phishing. They probably panicked and lifted the red phone direct to Trend Micro. It would also be helpful if users report to Trend Micro that they are incorrectly identifying SD for phishing.
Wetworks
03-30-2008, 12:19 PM
This is a different issue and we will be contacting Trend Micro when they open for business on Monday. We believe it is related to a recent incident where Paypal in all their wisdom thought that this thread (http://forums.slickdeals.net/showthread.php?t=768887) in question was phishing. They probably panicked and lifted the red phone direct to Trend Micro. It would also be helpful if users report to Trend Micro that they are incorrectly identifying SD for phishing.
Roger that. Thanks for the quick response.
Brair
03-31-2008, 06:26 AM
Panda is doing it now also.
wernerh
03-31-2008, 09:24 AM
Glad the SD support crew is already at work on this. I also got hit with a surpise "URL Blocked The URL you are trying to access is a potential security risk". Curiously, it only seems to be blocking "www.slickdeals.net", but I can gain entry by going directly into forums "forums.slickdeals.net" - which are not blocked.
This is on a work system using Trend Micro Officescan 8.
I'll send an e-mail to Trend Micro support on this - and good luck to the SD team clearing this up!!!
Brair
04-02-2008, 01:14 PM
fixed for panda now
Threxx
05-05-2008, 10:25 AM
Just thought I'd mention I'm on the latest updates w/ Trend Micro Office Scan and while the forums come up fine, the main page says:
"Trend Micro OfficeScan Event
URL Blocked
The URL that you are attempting to access is a potential security risk. Trend Micro OfficeScan has blocked this URL in keeping with network security policy.
URL: http://slickdeals.net/"
This is new... 2 weeks ago I was pulling up the main page fine... now it's blocking it.
SD's main page has obviously done something to get it black listed with the major security policy carriers like this... this doesn't just happen for no reason. Possibly one of their third party advertising affiliates put up some compromised ads?
wernerh
05-05-2008, 01:49 PM
Just thought I'd mention I'm on the latest updates w/ Trend Micro Office Scan and while the forums come up fine, the main page says:
"Trend Micro OfficeScan Event
URL Blocked
The URL that you are attempting to access is a potential security risk. Trend Micro OfficeScan has blocked this URL in keeping with network security policy.
URL: http://slickdeals.net/"
This is new... 2 weeks ago I was pulling up the main page fine... now it's blocking it.
SD's main page has obviously done something to get it black listed with the major security policy carriers like this... this doesn't just happen for no reason. Possibly one of their third party advertising affiliates put up some compromised ads?
I'm having the exact same problem - and it seems to go away and than come back over the past couple weeks of Trend Micro updates. I'll do an update, and all Slickdeals pages / links work. Now - today - the forums work, but the main (home) page is blocked and so are all deal 'hyperlinks' (probably because they start out as slickdeal.net in the URLs).
It's getting VERY FRUSTRATING - and hope it can be fixed once and for all!
Schooby
05-05-2008, 03:04 PM
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr friggin Kaspersky is blocking everything now!!! Stupid thing is even blocking google.com. Dammmmmmmit!
slickdeals
05-07-2008, 04:15 AM
I'm having the exact same problem - and it seems to go away and than come back over the past couple weeks of Trend Micro updates. I'll do an update, and all Slickdeals pages / links work. Now - today - the forums work, but the main (home) page is blocked and so are all deal 'hyperlinks' (probably because they start out as slickdeal.net in the URLs).
It's getting VERY FRUSTRATING - and hope it can be fixed once and for all!
Trend Micro reclassified SD as shopping again.