PDA

View Full Version : Is Erdsupply.com Legit?


pidass15
07-29-2008, 04:48 PM
Saw a craigslist ad for iPhone. Emailed the guy and got this:

got a buyer already sry. ya can get one shipped to ya fer pretty cheap @ http://www.erdsupply.com/

i have other electronics on ebay if you're interested http://myworld.ebay.com/bestelectronicdeal/


Whois shows it's based out of CA. Various scam websites that show up in google search seems to be 50/50 whether or not it's a scam but no real evidence or real experiences.

Anyone use it before?

bzhayes
07-29-2008, 05:34 PM
nothing listed on resellerratings. That means it is either a new scam site or a guy who is just trying to start his business. Odds are that it is the former and not the later... but you never know. You can give it a try (make sure you use a cc!)... but I wouldn't.

MineOhNine
07-29-2008, 07:34 PM
http://www.erdsupply.com/images/ps3/wholesale-ps3-small.jpg

This picture is worth a thousand words. They photoshopped their name in to look like its a legit picture. I wouldn't trust that site.

*edit* And to say it was "photoshopped" is a stretch. Looks more like it was "MS Pained." *edit*

pieter55
08-07-2008, 07:36 AM
Same thing happened to me with an iPhone listing on Craigslist Boston. I subscribed to Erdsupply and paid $30, STUPID don't do it. The only thing you get is a list of websites where they sell fake iPhone acs. No iphone's there! It seems erdsupply.com is legitimate, but their ad on their homepage suggests good deals, but there aren't any!
Pieter55
The Netherlands

BigBueOx
08-23-2008, 10:06 AM
Same thing happened to me with an iPhone listing on Craigslist Boston. I subscribed to Erdsupply and paid $30, STUPID don't do it. The only thing you get is a list of websites where they sell fake iPhone acs. No iphone's there! It seems erdsupply.com is legitimate, but their ad on their homepage suggests good deals, but there aren't any!
Pieter55
The Netherlands

Same deal for me, Buyer Beware! Heres the email I got:

got a buyer already sry. not sure if you know of this site already http://www.erdsupply.com/ ? it's where i got mine and ya can order one yourself. even better than http://www.ecost.com/ if ya know what that is.

take it easy,
Eric

ECU Pirate
08-27-2008, 09:48 AM
Same deal for me, Buyer Beware! Heres the email I got:

got a buyer already sry. not sure if you know of this site already http://www.erdsupply.com/ ? it's where i got mine and ya can order one yourself. even better than http://www.ecost.com/ if ya know what that is.

take it easy,
Eric

WOW - I got the EXACT same email response on 8/18 to a craigslist posting. Seems like that's how they "advertise" - they post an item on craigslist for sale at a cheap price (in my case it was an iPod Nano), then when you reply they say it's already sold, etc., etc. My email response even had the "sry" instead of sorry. STAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY AWAAAAAAAAAAAAY!

milezlong
08-27-2008, 07:43 PM
WHEW!!!!!
I LOVE SLICKDEALS.
Glad I checked here first. Got a response to an add for xbox360 trade, and the guy had said that he just got rid of the his iphone, but I could get them cheap from the erdsupply.com site.
I almost fell for it, even got to the paypal page, but a gut feeling told me to check things out. Thanks people. :woot:

anjam
08-31-2008, 06:15 PM
Same here.
Got the "tip" from a craigslist seller (who had already sold the iphone I was interested in). Good that I check here first :lol:

Will stay away.

glkh
09-02-2008, 04:26 PM
Yes, I got the same reply for this too from Craigslist.....Beware!!

g3tz2thapap3r
05-13-2009, 09:07 PM
THIS SCAM IS BACK... :(
--> seemed really shady since Sellers usually dont respond when an Item has already been sold & + the site was eager to get you to sign up for their program to get the "low" price!


--thanks SD -- will stay away

unfortunately , it seems as if there are more scammers & bots on craigslist these days :mad: