Slickdeals.net

Slickdeals.net (http://slickdeals.net/forums/index.php)
-   Hot Deals (http://slickdeals.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Logitech Harmony 650 - $39.99 FS (http://slickdeals.net/f/3605842-logitech-harmony-650-39-99-fs)

eb50 11-24-2011 03:51 AM

Logitech Harmony 650 - $39.99 FS
 
Deal is now live!

39.99 shipped!
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Logit...&cp=1&lp=1

Same remote was a FP deal last year for $50
http://slickdeals.net/permadeal/42352

Happy Thanksgiving! Now I can avoid bestbuy.

brisar 11-24-2011 03:51 AM

Logitech Harmony 650 5-Device Universal Remote Control $40 + Free shipping
 
1 Attachment(s)
Best Buy has Logitech Harmony 650 5-Device Universal Remote Control for $39.99 with free shipping. Thanks eb50

ncc1701p 11-24-2011 08:08 AM

Great deal.. been waiting on the price drop for this.

kobak8 11-24-2011 08:12 AM

Remote has a design flaw with its battery contacts. It freezes when dropped at all even on carpet. Just giving fair warning because at this price it looks attractive.

magicbullet 11-24-2011 08:13 AM

good deal, sadly i dont need 1

cj1319 11-24-2011 08:28 AM

I let Amazon know of the lower price, hopefully they match it

nygfan 11-24-2011 08:32 AM

Time to notify Amazon to get them to PM.

Harmony 650 [amazon.com]

primetime2113 11-24-2011 08:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nygfan (Post 45097710)
Time to notify Amazon to get them to PM.

Harmony 650 [amazon.com]

Why not just buy it through Best Buy?

nygfan 11-24-2011 08:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by primetime2113 (Post 45097776)
Why not just buy it through Best Buy?

While I do get taxed either way I have Prime shipping and I'd rather give a sale to Amazon than Best Buy.

wobiii 11-24-2011 08:45 AM

Just ordered one, will be my second. Had a lot of problems with the first one and still trying to get it back to logitech before my warranty expires. Took them almost 3 weeks to reply to my email and now they are wanting pics of the lcd screen. Loved the remote when it worked, will try again. Thanks for posting.

Guinness7 11-24-2011 08:45 AM

I bought two of these remotes last year and I have mixed feelings about them. If your remote gets a lot of use in a family room type setting I would skip it because the one we had in that type of setting stopped working and when we got a replacement (excellent customer service), the new one started giving us problems within a month. The other remote I got is used by one person and so far has held up, but this seems like a very buggy remote and I would probably not recommend it to anyone despite how good it looks.

Snarfhound 11-24-2011 08:48 AM

Did this same deal last year... good price. In for one - rep'd

leckig 11-24-2011 08:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kobak8 (Post 45096534)
Remote has a design flaw with its battery contacts. It freezes when dropped at all even on carpet. Just giving fair warning because at this price it looks attractive.

i have had it for two years and never noticed this.

Mswol767 11-24-2011 08:59 AM

Can these be used to shut garage doors?

68droptop 11-24-2011 09:00 AM

Nice score. Thanks subby.

Just had to send my 890 Pro out for repair and am afraid that it is on is last leg.

wazlo21 11-24-2011 09:01 AM

We bought one for our basement and it works great. We just picked one up for my parents so my mom can use their new TV setup. Thanks OP!

kobak8 11-24-2011 09:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by leckig (Post 45098948)
i have had it for two years and never noticed this.

Drop it while the LCD screen is on (so you know it froze) so that the battery compartment hits the floor first. Give it a 2 ft fall onto carpeting. If it does not freeze you are lucky, I went through 3 before Logitech CS acknowledged the flaw and upgraded to a 670. This is a known flaw, check out AVS forum.

sacflies 11-24-2011 09:03 AM

Remember that this unit has a limit of 5 devices. But if you are replacing a current Harmony remote you can transfer all the devices from the old one to this one and it will work. Even if the old remote had more than 5 devices programmed in. You will not be able to add any more devices once you make the switch, but this may be good to know for some. Here [custhelp.com] is a link on the how to do it.

I picked up one of these off craigslist brand new for $40 a few weeks ago. I love it. Absolutely no problems so far.

Radio Shack [radioshack.com]has the Harmony 600, which I believe is just like the 650 only with a monochrome display, for $30.

kobak8 11-24-2011 09:06 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mswol767 (Post 45099172)
Can these be used to shut garage doors?

Garage door openers traditionally use RF signals. This remote does not use RF. And even if it did, no device can replicate an RF signal. Universal remotes that use RF translate an IR code into a proprietary RF signal then back into IR at the device.

BluddSimple 11-24-2011 09:06 AM

I'm hoping someone can help me out. It says it controls up to 5 devices, now does that also mean I can have more than 5 devices programmed into the remote but just activate at max of 5 at once?

Rep for some help.

Jairus 11-24-2011 09:06 AM

AFAIK garage doors are RF so you'll need the 890/900 model for that.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mswol767 (Post 45099172)
Can these be used to shut garage doors?


Mswol767 11-24-2011 09:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kobak8 (Post 45099504)
Garage door openers traditionally use RF signals. This remote does not use RF. And even if it did, no device can replicate an RF signal. Universal remotes that use RF translate an IR code into a proprietary RF signal then back into IR at the device.

Thanks! Getting lazy to walk outside to shut them!

kobak8 11-24-2011 09:07 AM

Your entire setup can consist of 5 devices total UNLESS you already have a Harmony account with more than 5 with a different remote and are transferring that setup onto this remote.

Zarich 11-24-2011 09:08 AM

I have this and hate it.
Always have to use help because it fails to turn on or off something.
Doesn't recognize all the inputs on my tv and logitech has been unresponsive.
Luckily I got mine from costco so it can go back.

londi1tagaholy 11-24-2011 09:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kobak8 (Post 45096534)
Remote has a design flaw with its battery contacts. It freezes when dropped at all even on carpet. Just giving fair warning because at this price it looks attractive.

I agree and the default "watch a movie" is DVD player. When installing, you need to find similar number or atleast close to your blu ray player serial number (if you want to use it with blu-ray player) for it to works although not all function will be controlled. Nice find. I bought this last year and works perfectly today

itsalladream 11-24-2011 09:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by primetime2113 (Post 45097776)
Why not just buy it through Best Buy?

In my case, no tax.

oper8r00 11-24-2011 09:49 AM

Meh it was like a $1.50 in tax. Ordered one for mom.

mbarry55 11-24-2011 09:52 AM

This is what I wanted from Best Buy now I can avoid that scene. Ordered one to replace an aging 550. Thanks for the heads up on this!

D_Nyholm 11-24-2011 09:58 AM

Anyone know the typical battery life on this one? My Harmony 520 eats batteries. I'd love to only have to change them once a year at most!

Reallynotnick 11-24-2011 10:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sacflies (Post 45099374)
I picked up one of these off craigslist brand new for $40 a few weeks ago. I love it. Absolutely no problems so far.

Radio Shack [radioshack.com]has the Harmony 600, which I believe is just like the 650 only with a monochrome display, for $30.

Thanks, picked up the 600 instead and saved $10, to me the color screen wasn't worth the extra price. But either ways these are slick deals and make great christmas presents. I'm going to pre-program this for my dad and give it to him for Christmas, he hates all his remotes so he will love this!

BayArea 11-24-2011 10:21 AM

If Amazon price matches, I'll be getting it from them!

D_Nyholm 11-24-2011 10:26 AM

just ordered from Best Buy since they have free shipping also.

crzyc 11-24-2011 11:25 AM

submitted my pm to amazon, crossing fingers

bestdealaround 11-24-2011 11:28 AM

lowest price i've seen for this, in a long while in for one ! thanks!

sahil80 11-24-2011 11:53 AM

anyone had luck pm amazon?

sahil80 11-24-2011 11:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by crzyc (Post 45106766)
submitted my pm to amazon, crossing fingers

whats the output? did you email or chat?

rockbrook 11-24-2011 11:59 AM

Im a tech idiot...is this the kind of remote that "works thru walls"? I think its by radio frequency so that you can have ur cable box, dvd, etc in a closet, etc? Bc thats the one i need to get! Thanks!

BayArea 11-24-2011 12:00 PM

Ughhh still no price match from Amazon :(

sahil80 11-24-2011 12:06 PM

Amazon PM request - not successful :(

missellie 11-24-2011 12:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by D_Nyholm (Post 45102428)
Anyone know the typical battery life on this one? My Harmony 520 eats batteries. I'd love to only have to change them once a year at most!

I bought mine through this deal last year and I just recently changed the batteries. The only thing I don't like about it is the lag when I press "play" from fast forward during DVR playback. It doesn't happen every time but it happens too often for me. I guess every device has some faults.

D_Nyholm 11-24-2011 12:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by missellie (Post 45109138)
I bought mine through this deal last year and I just recently changed the batteries. The only thing I don't like about it is the lag when I press "play" from fast forward during DVR playback. It doesn't happen every time but it happens too often for me. I guess every device has some faults.

Ahh, good to know. I believe you can also change the response time in the settings, at least I can with my older logitech 520

missellie 11-24-2011 12:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by D_Nyholm (Post 45109390)
Ahh, good to know. I believe you can also change the response time in the settings, at least I can with my older logitech 520

Thanks, I don't remember that during the setup but I'll definitely go back and check it out!

Also, someone mentioned they had trouble with their Blu-ray player but I didn't experience that at all. I selected the brand and model from the list and it works perfectly. I also have 5 devices programmed with no issues. I think the key is setting it up correctly (brand, model, and input) for each device. It probably took 30 minutes total to program everything (mainly looking up model numbers and remembering what was plugged into which input on my home theater receiver).

ra1nman 11-24-2011 01:53 PM

In 4 1. Tired of the buttons on my 880 going dead. Too bad it only lasted 4 yrs

29er 11-24-2011 01:58 PM

I currently have the Harmony 720, and can sell it for about $40. Can anyone tell me if this 650 would be an upgrade? Thanks in advance, will rep for constructive feedback.

BaseShip 11-24-2011 02:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 29er (Post 45114272)
I currently have the Harmony 720, and can sell it for about $40. Can anyone tell me if this 650 would be an upgrade? Thanks in advance, will rep for constructive feedback.

a used remote for $40? People buy that?

laptopquestions 11-24-2011 02:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockbrook (Post 45108560)
Im a tech idiot...is this the kind of remote that "works thru walls"? I think its by radio frequency so that you can have ur cable box, dvd, etc in a closet, etc? Bc thats the one i need to get! Thanks!

No, this is an infrared remote requiring line of site.

Difference between IR and RF remotes [custhelp.com]

29er 11-24-2011 02:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BaseShip (Post 45114410)
a used remote for $40? People buy that?

You added a lot of value to this thread. Go back to your parent's basement, troll.

eibgrad 11-24-2011 02:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by missellie (Post 45109138)
I bought mine through this deal last year and I just recently changed the batteries. The only thing I don't like about it is the lag when I press "play" from fast forward during DVR playback. It doesn't happen every time but it happens too often for me. I guess every device has some faults.

I don't own this particular Harmony remote, but do own several others. At least w/ my Harmony 550, I can change many of its behaviors, including the delay between sending signals. What I've noticed is that many of these settings are extremely conservative, presumably to make sure it always works (even if painfully slow). Over time, I'd reduced these delays considerably, sometimes to zero (or near zero). Just don't accept whatever it defaults too. These devices are highly customizable and really need some "tweaking" to get it working ultra smoothly.

BayArea 11-24-2011 03:17 PM

Ahh screw it..doesn't look like Amazon will price match. I ordered one from Best Buy. Thanks and repped op!

Teletubbie 11-24-2011 03:24 PM

Use ShopDiscover to get 10% cash back.

normanbatez 11-24-2011 06:22 PM

i bought two of these last year. One of the remotes has been fine he other one I have gotten 3 replacements (awaiting my 4th) due to the rebooting and battery issues. The remote would be great if both of them worked consistently

lewiscypher 11-24-2011 07:08 PM

Thanks one person off my list with ease and a good deal... Thanks... and had to get ACR for myself :D

nintwala 11-24-2011 08:09 PM

in for 1! Been watching this thread for too long. Couldn't resist.

SIAMEASY 11-24-2011 08:28 PM

I love this remote. I got one last year. It's awesome. I've had zero problems and I only had to replace batteries once this year.

dadab 11-25-2011 11:17 AM

costco B&M has this for $38.

unl94 11-25-2011 06:59 PM

Sweet - My 659 just went tits-up. Thanks OP!!

utl768 11-25-2011 07:05 PM

grabbed this yesterday to replace my 550 from years back

550 still works but this is a nice upgrade

skdeal 11-25-2011 07:16 PM

Got this in Costco B&M for 37.99 + tax today. Its 54.99 - 17 instant discount.

crzyc 11-26-2011 06:28 AM

Waited long enough, usually Amazon would have priced matched by now. Pulled trigger from best buy. Thanks OP!

sfazngiants 11-26-2011 10:03 AM

is this remote good? read many reviews about the device restarting and a flaw with the battery compartment. any one have any experience. I ordered one from bb and thinking about returning it because of the problems i read about

cmdrbond 11-26-2011 01:16 PM

Does this work with ps3?

sfazngiants 11-26-2011 01:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmdrbond (Post 45210154)
Does this work with ps3?

It will if you buy the harmony adapter for ps3

gjcv1408 11-27-2011 06:35 PM

will this work on xbox 360?
anyone knows when it will back to regular price?

thestappa 11-28-2011 03:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gjcv1408 (Post 45255194)
will this work on xbox 360?
anyone knows when it will back to regular price?


I would think so. I have the old Logitech Xbox 360 remote that is on it's last legs. I think I'll go pick this up on the way home.

richard4339 11-30-2011 07:21 AM

Has anybody had problems with theirs not shipping? I ordered one and my parents ordered one. Theirs shipped Monday, mine is still in processing.

mike929 11-30-2011 12:04 PM

Fyi ....still 39.99 at bb in Alpharetta store 516

Whisperwind 12-02-2011 02:05 PM

mine still has not shipped


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 AM.


1999-2014