Slickdeals.net

Slickdeals.net (http://slickdeals.net/forums/index.php)
-   Deal Talk (http://slickdeals.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   Kingston V300 120GB Solid State Drive $80 (http://slickdeals.net/e/5862464-kingston-v300-120gb-solid-state-drive-80)

thinh4u2 02-17-2013 11:24 PM

Kingston V300 120GB Solid State Drive $80
 
Kingston V300 SV300S37A/120G 120GB Solid State Drive - 2.5" Form Factor, SATA III, Up To 450MB/s Read Speed, Up To 450MB/s Write Speed, With Adapter

Price:
$79.99 + s&h

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applic...u=K24-0301

Been lookin for a sale on a 120gb or 128gb SSD sata iii. I'd prefer crucial m4, samsung 840, or intel.....but none of those appear to be on sale. This looks like it has decent reviews

mattford11 02-17-2013 11:25 PM

Solid drive - using one in this PC right now. Has been cheaper via Staples as recent as 2 weeks ago.

2am 02-17-2013 11:38 PM

I think it's a good deal

1093koney 02-17-2013 11:43 PM

$80 no rebate is tempting, wish the 120gb would be $50 already.......

spammiebear 02-18-2013 12:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1093koney (Post 57652562)
$80 no rebate is tempting, wish the 120gb would be $50 already.......

Not bad for a MLC drive. In 4 one.

dn3g3l 02-18-2013 12:42 AM

If im swapping my current ssd with my os to this, can I just do a backup and restore? Or do I have to reinstall everything?

tinymonkeyt 02-18-2013 12:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 1093koney (Post 57652562)
$80 no rebate is tempting, wish the 120gb would be $50 already.......

Do you think it'll hit these prices by the summer?

kg21 02-18-2013 12:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tinymonkeyt (Post 57652930)
Do you think it'll hit these prices by the summer?

SSD prices were supposed to keep going down but they've stalled. Doubt it will hit that price point by the summer (would be nice to be wrong again and they do hit that price point).

btw1217 02-18-2013 02:39 AM

Also available at NewEgg [newegg.com] (Use code EMCYTZT2964 Exp. 2/18) Free shipping and much better customer service.

Noreaster 02-18-2013 04:26 AM

This or 3k
 
I'm waiting for an $80 SSD, but can wait. Is
This better than the hyperX 3k. I'm assuming the 3k is a better drive. It will be used primarily as my Os boot drive. Thank you.

tigerdude77 02-18-2013 06:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dn3g3l (Post 57652922)
If im swapping my current ssd with my os to this, can I just do a backup and restore? Or do I have to reinstall everything?

I'm pretty sure that will NOT work.

I recommend that you CLONE the drive. There are numerous packages, etc that allow you to CLONE the drive. Once cloned, power it down and replace the HD with the SSD and you should be good.
*You may need to format the new SSD. It seems that I have had to do that to get a successful clone of the HD. Also, I have a cloning kit which includes the software plus the USB device that contains the new SSD.

Good luck.

lollerskates 02-18-2013 07:51 AM

bought 2 from newegg to avoid tax at TD (live in florida) thanks!

illuminati 02-18-2013 09:53 AM

This for samsung 840?

1093koney 02-18-2013 09:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tinymonkeyt (Post 57652930)
Do you think it'll hit these prices by the summer?

The ocz 120gb used to be $50, but they stopped going on sale, that was a couple months ago. I have no idea if it'll happen again lol.

toromac 02-18-2013 10:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dn3g3l (Post 57652922)
If im swapping my current ssd with my os to this, can I just do a backup and restore? Or do I have to reinstall everything?

If you have a mac you can. Just do a time machine backup then insert your new drive, boot from internet recovery and then restore from time machine backup. simple.

iluvu4eternity 02-18-2013 10:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tinymonkeyt (Post 57652930)
Do you think it'll hit these prices by the summer?

i think it will hit that price point if you are able to price match and possibly use coupons for staples :) last year i got the agil for like 70$ after all

travfar 02-18-2013 10:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by toromac (Post 57659862)
If you have a mac you can. Just do a time machine backup then insert your new drive, boot from internet recovery and then restore from time machine backup. simple.

You don't even need to do that. Uploading a 100GB to the internet will take a lot of time. Just hook up both drives and do a restore from your old drive. I just did that with my mac mini with a 240GB V200+ I picked up for $80 on CL. It was even new.

Bobby_Pro 02-18-2013 10:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by EpicTroll23 (Post 57659644)
This for samsung 840?

Samsung 840 is a lot faster and reliable. Spend 20 bucks more and it wouldn't disappoint you.

cyfan 02-18-2013 11:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dn3g3l (Post 57652922)
If im swapping my current ssd with my os to this, can I just do a backup and restore? Or do I have to reinstall everything?

Not sure why the other post told you that you couldn't do it and then proceeded to tell you how to do it. I've done this on 5 different machines. It's easy. Acronis has always worked well for me in cloning disks. Please note that if your old hard drive has 200GB worth of data, you won't magically get all of that on a 120GB drive. So you may need to separate data (e.g., music and movies) from the rest and then clone.

dn3g3l 02-18-2013 12:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cyfan (Post 57662770)
Not sure why the other post told you that you couldn't do it and then proceeded to tell you how to do it. I've done this on 5 different machines. It's easy. Acronis has always worked well for me in cloning disks. Please note that if your old hard drive has 200GB worth of data, you won't magically get all of that on a 120GB drive. So you may need to separate data (e.g., music and movies) from the rest and then clone.

thanks. mine is only 60gb. mainly using for os and some programs. so size wise will be more than adequate.

toromac 02-18-2013 01:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by travfar (Post 57660012)
You don't even need to do that. Uploading a 100GB to the internet will take a lot of time. Just hook up both drives and do a restore from your old drive. I just did that with my mac mini with a 240GB V200+ I picked up for $80 on CL. It was even new.

Internet recovery does not load any of your files to the cloud. All it does is download the operating system to the drive. The rest is imported from your time machine backup. You are basically saying the same thing I am; however, you don't understand how Internet Recovery works.

travfar 02-18-2013 01:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by toromac (Post 57665296)
Internet recovery does not load any of your files to the cloud. All it does is download the operating system to the drive. The rest is imported from your time machine backup. You are basically saying the same thing I am; however, you don't understand how Internet Recovery works.

If you were saying the samething as me, you didn't phrase it very well. What you said made it sound someone should to do a time machine backup to a resource online. What I'm describing doesn't need a time machine backup or a download of the OS. Why would it? If you are restoring from your original drive, then everything is already there. The OS doesn't need to be reinstalled and your files don't need to be backed up. They don't sound like basically the samething at all.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:46 PM.