Slickdeals.net

Slickdeals.net (http://slickdeals.net/forums/index.php)
-   Tech Support (http://slickdeals.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Replacing Motherboard (http://slickdeals.net/f/5892150-replacing-motherboard)

cmorris1441 03-06-2013 12:20 PM

Replacing Motherboard
 
I'm upgrading my motherboard. Will I need to reinstall my OS or can I just swap it and duplicate the settings? i.e. AHCI.

Really hoping to avoid reinstalling, got a lot going on right now. Plus, I'll be getting a SSD in a few weeks that I'll want to install Windows on. Don't want to do that twice.

LiquidRetro 03-06-2013 12:26 PM

Windows will complain if its not the same model motherboard (Licensing+Driver issues too). I would recommend you wait for the swap until you get the SSD and do it all at once. The best thing to do when moving to an ssd is starting fresh with a new install.

prozac4312 03-06-2013 12:37 PM

Damn that SLIC.

RockySosua 03-06-2013 01:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmorris1441 (Post 58036684)
I'm upgrading my motherboard. Will I need to reinstall my OS or can I just swap it and duplicate the settings? i.e. AHCI.

Really hoping to avoid reinstalling, got a lot going on right now. Plus, I'll be getting a SSD in a few weeks that I'll want to install Windows on. Don't want to do that twice.

Is it just the mobo?
Like, will you be using the same processor?
If so, there's a chance that it will work.
Have done it many times.
On occasion, you get a BSOD as the drivers are simply too different, and even then, I've managed to get around it in Safe Mode, then removing the drivers, then installing the new chipset, etc.
You have nothing to lose by trying.
The SSD is another matter.
It would be much more desirable to do a clean installation, than to clone.

cmorris1441 03-06-2013 01:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RockySosua (Post 58038122)
Is it just the mobo?
Like, will you be using the same processor?
If so, there's a chance that it will work.
Have done it many times.
On occasion, you get a BSOD as the drivers are simply too different, and even then, I've managed to get around it in Safe Mode, then removing the drivers, then installing the new chipset, etc.
You have nothing to lose by trying.
The SSD is another matter.
It would be much more desirable to do a clean installation, than to clone.

Yes
old: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Pro...6813130571
new: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Pro...6813128546

I would just wait for the SSD, but the old MB is going into another build for a friend. Any advice on minimalizing backup/reinstall of programs/files if I have to? I have a lot of stuff I would have to configure - Plex media server, XAMPP, FileZilla, VPSes, etc.
The OS is Win 8 Pro x64. How will I backup the Win 8 apps?

Can I just copy my C:\Users\Chris folder onto another drive, then move it back later? I know that doesn't have the programs and I will still have to reinstall them.
Thanks

LiquidRetro 03-06-2013 02:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmorris1441 (Post 58039246)
Yes
old: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Pro...6813130571
new: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Pro...6813128546

I would just wait for the SSD, but the old MB is going into another build for a friend. Any advice on minimalizing backup/reinstall of programs/files if I have to? I have a lot of stuff I would have to configure - Plex media server, XAMPP, FileZilla, VPSes, etc.
The OS is Win 8 Pro x64. How will I backup the Win 8 apps?

Can I just copy my C:\Users\Chris folder onto another drive, then move it back later? I know that doesn't have the programs and I will still have to reinstall them.
Thanks

What you wanting to do is possible but you will fight it and it will cause tons of problems. Although you don't want to you will be a lot happier setting things up new side by side. Once the new is setup blast the old away rebuild and give to friend.

cmorris1441 03-06-2013 02:10 PM

Any way to backup my Steam games so I don't need to redownload 150 gigs or so?

LiquidRetro 03-06-2013 02:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmorris1441 (Post 58039816)
Any way to backup my Steam games so I don't need to redownload 150 gigs or so?

Yes there is. I have done it but had to google it when I did.

https://support.steampowered.com/...-yphv-2033
http://www.viaarena.com/forums/sh...hp?t=39703

menace33 03-06-2013 02:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmorris1441 (Post 58036684)
I'm upgrading my motherboard. Will I need to reinstall my OS or can I just swap it and duplicate the settings? i.e. AHCI.

Really hoping to avoid reinstalling, got a lot going on right now. Plus, I'll be getting a SSD in a few weeks that I'll want to install Windows on. Don't want to do that twice.

Follow these steps. I just changed out a MOBO recently and followed these steps [sevenforums.com] to move the SSD over without a whole lot of complications. Only thing you may need to do is re-activate Windows. Follow Method One.

cmorris1441 03-06-2013 02:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LiquidRetro (Post 58040678)
Yes there is. I have done it but had to google it when I did.

https://support.steampowered.com/...-yphv-2033
http://www.viaarena.com/forums/sh...hp?t=39703

Thanks.

Also, the MB. I have been using an 8 pin CPU connector with my other MB. I found a case of the PSU cords I haven't been using (it's modular) and there wasn't a 4 pin in there. I did some searching and I think I can just plug in 4 pins from the 8 pin cord. Can someone confirm this?
Here's a link to the PSU:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Pro...4Aod8DsAjw

EDIT: Image of the PSU shows a 4 pin cable, I don't know where it is thoug, unless it's one of the non-modular ones. I'll have to check.

avaican 03-06-2013 03:59 PM

Here's how I did it:
1. On the old motherboard, boot into Safe Mode.
2.Remove the chipset and device drivers.
3. Swap out the motherboard
4. Call Microsoft for OEM license reactivation, if required
5. Boot into Windows on the new board and install the new motherboard's chipset and device drivers.

cmorris1441 03-06-2013 05:43 PM

I updated the BIOS from 1.A to 1.J on the old MSI board (original build still together), after the update Windows rebooted, and now I get blue screens when booting Windows. Can I move on with my build? I'm guessing it just needs a fresh install after the BIOS update. I needed to do the update for the MB to support the i3-2120. I did the update using MSI Live Update 5.

edit: I used to get a series of beeps when booting, now I only get one error-like beep. I can get into BIOS and it works fine and shows an update version.

bszelda 03-06-2013 05:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmorris1441 (Post 58044500)
I updated the BIOS from 1.A to 1.J on the old MSI board (original build still together), after the update Windows rebooted, and now I get blue screens when booting Windows. Can I move on with my build? I'm guessing it just needs a fresh install after the BIOS update. I needed to do the update for the MB to support the i3-2120. I did the update using MSI Live Update 5.

It could be that it does need a fresh install but it could also be some settings in the bios that might have changed when updating.

RockySosua 03-07-2013 04:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by avaican (Post 58042344)
Here's how I did it:
1. On the old motherboard, boot into Safe Mode.
2.Remove the chipset and device drivers.
3. Swap out the motherboard
4. Call Microsoft for OEM license reactivation, if required
5. Boot into Windows on the new board and install the new motherboard's chipset and device drivers.

How did you remove the chipset?

RockySosua 03-07-2013 04:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmorris1441 (Post 58044500)
I updated the BIOS from 1.A to 1.J on the old MSI board (original build still together), after the update Windows rebooted, and now I get blue screens when booting Windows. Can I move on with my build? I'm guessing it just needs a fresh install after the BIOS update. I needed to do the update for the MB to support the i3-2120. I did the update using MSI Live Update 5.

edit: I used to get a series of beeps when booting, now I only get one error-like beep. I can get into BIOS and it works fine and shows an update version.

Don't make yourself crazy with the old board.
Clear the cmos to reset it the way it was and don't do anything more until you install the new mobo.

Aitrus 03-07-2013 06:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by avaican (Post 58042344)
Here's how I did it:
1. On the old motherboard, boot into Safe Mode.
2.Remove the chipset and device drivers.
3. Swap out the motherboard
4. Call Microsoft for OEM license reactivation, if required
5. Boot into Windows on the new board and install the new motherboard's chipset and device drivers.

You can do the above as well as what I usually do which is perform a repair install (only removes windows files and re-installs them without removing your apps or documents) which will allow the adaption of new hardware. Usually you will also have to re-activate windows.

Instructions for Windows 8 here
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/repair-windows-8

Depending on what happens when you install the new hardware you may or may not even need to do any of that. The newer OS's are a bit more friendly for swapping out hardware without re-installing windows, more so than XP was and other prior operating systems.

Reactivating is not a big deal. You just call Microsoft, tell them you got a new drive, they'll help you reactivate if needed.

RockySosua 03-07-2013 06:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aitrus (Post 58054152)
You can do the above as well as what I usually do which is perform a repair install (only removes windows files and re-installs them without removing your apps or documents) which will allow the adaption of new hardware. Usually you will also have to re-activate windows.

Instructions for Windows 8 here
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/repair-windows-8

Depending on what happens when you install the new hardware you may or may not even need to do any of that. The newer OS's are a bit more friendly for swapping out hardware without re-installing windows, more so than XP was and other prior operating systems.

Reactivating is not a big deal. You just call Microsoft, tell them you got a new drive, they'll help you reactivate if needed.

:iagree::iagree::iagree::iagree:

cmorris1441 03-07-2013 08:49 AM

I installed the new board and did a fresh install. Everything is running great now, I'll be installing the old board in the new build when my case comes. Supposed to be today, but the snow might change that. I left my PC on overnight to move all the files back onto it and it's mostly back to how I had it now. Thanks everyone, reps for you all now.

brbubba 03-07-2013 11:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RockySosua (Post 58052516)
How did you remove the chipset?

Very carefully! :lmao:

RockySosua 03-07-2013 11:37 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by brbubba (Post 58062304)
Very carefully! :lmao:

No hammer and chisel?
All kidding aside, I know how to remove drivers from the Device Manager, of course, but it's not as if there's one in there that says "chipset driver", so I'm curious as to how one might go about removing it?
Can it be done and if so, how?
Then I can go to bed :sleepy: a little bit less stupid tonight.

Lavin 03-07-2013 12:56 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by RockySosua (Post 58062630)
it's not as if there's one in there that says "chipset driver", so I'm curious as to how one might go about removing it?
Can it be done and if so, how?
Then I can go to bed :sleepy: a little bit less stupid tonight.

You use this: Attachment 1830138

And then pick your poison and good night sir: ;) Attachment 1830144

RockySosua 03-07-2013 01:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lavin (Post 58064786)
You use this: Attachment 1830138

And then pick your poison and good night sir: ;) Attachment 1830144

OK... You jut one the award.
I mean... that's just friggin hilarious.
How the heck did you get that? :confused:
Even I didn't know that coupon existed.

PS: Now I feel really stupid.
Just asked the new owner where that coupon came from and not only is from Rocky's website, but he says he put it there 3 YEARS ago.
Goes to show how much I'm paying attention.
When I sold the biz, I thought I would be retired, not retarded.....:rolleyes:


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 AM.


1999-2014