Slickdeals.net - The best deals, lowest prices and hot coupons.
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   SlickDeals.net Forums > Deal Discussion > Deal Talk

SiloSizedBullet's Avatar
Member Since: Sep 2004
 
Thanks for voting
You have chosen to thumb down this thread.
For feedback purposes, please select a reason:

Thanks for voting
You have chosen to thumb down this thread.
For feedback purposes, please select a reason:

Score
Votes: 1 Score: 1
Login to vote.
Share This Voting Feedback
http://buyjny.com
is anybody familiar with the site, any purchases?
I cant find too much info, wondering if its safe to shop.
02-24-2009, 03:19 PM

 
Guests, join the SlickDeals.net Community to remove this ad.

Old 02-25-2009, 08:33 PM #2
hornet31blue is offline hornet31blue
L1: Learner
Dec 2007
2
10 hornet31blue is finding his bearings
I haven't heard of them either, and they have a great deal on Samsung's LN40A630 HDTV $900!!!). Has anyone else heard of this site before and had good luck with them???
 
Old 02-25-2009, 08:49 PM #3
jackbean is offline jackbean
L6: Expert
Dec 2008
1,129
304 jackbean is a jewel in the rough
i wouldn't buy from them. this is there whois info:

Domain ID:
Domain Name: buyjny.com
Created On: 09-Jan-2009 00:00:00
Expiration Date: 09-Jan-2010 00:00:00
Sponsoring Registrar: 'Check Whois' (GODADDY.COM, INC.) (GODADDY.COM, INC.)
Status: ok
Name Server: ns27.domaincontrol.com
Name Server: ns28.domaincontrol.com
Registrant ID: Unknown
Registrant Name: Unknown
Registrant Organization: Unknown
Registrant Street1: Unknown
Registrant Street2: Unknown
Registrant Street3: Unknown
Registrant City: Unknown
Registrant State/Province: Unknown
Registrant Postal Code: Unknown
Registrant Country: Unknown
Registrant Phone: Unknown
Registrant Fax: Unknown
Registrant Email: Unknown
Admin ID: Unknown
Admin Name: Unknown
Admin Organization: Unknown
Admin Street1: Unknown
Admin Street2: Unknown
Admin Street3: Unknown
Admin City: Unknown
Admin State: Unknown
Admin Postal Code: Unknown
Admin Country: Unknown
Admin Phone: Unknown
Admin Fax: Unknown
Admin Email: Unknown

this is from their "about us" page on their website: http://buyjny.com/cms.php?id_cms=4

Our company

Our company
Our team

Our team
Informations

Informations

They have no information of identity
 
Old 02-26-2009, 04:32 AM #4
ethelmonk is offline ethelmonk
I'm a guy Damn It!!
ethelmonk's Avatar
Feb 2009
Chi-Town
206
72 ethelmonk will become famous soon enough
saw this in shipping

Packages are generally dispatched within 2 days after receipt of payment and are shipped via Colissimo with tracking and drop-off without signature. If you prefer delivery by Colissimo Extra with required signature, an additional cost will be applied, so please contact us before choosing this method. Whichever shipment choice you make, we will provide you with a link to track your package online.

Shipping fees include handling and packing fees as well as postage costs. Handling fees are fixed, whereas transport fees vary according to total weight of the shipment. We advise you to group your items in one order. We cannot group two distinct orders placed separately, and shipping fees will apply to each of them. Your package will be dispatched at your own risk, but special care is taken to protect fragile objects.

Boxes are amply sized and your items are well-protected

I love the part where it says "shipped by Colissimo".

really!!!!!!! i'd stay away from this company.
 
Old 03-04-2009, 12:09 PM #5
subwayhello is offline subwayhello
hellosubway
subwayhello's Avatar
Dec 2007
new york
518
214 subwayhello has a spectacular aura about
I called the company number the guy answered and said john (i think, def didnt say buyjny or jny's) I asked him about the sharp to see if it was refurbished he said all products are new, I then asked about shipping which shows as 0.00 in the cart (didn't do any steps in checkout) and without knowledge of the product he said "ummm 33 dollars to ship"

After googling I found this thread, felt I should add this info...
 
Old 03-05-2009, 08:22 PM #6
Mookie is offline Mookie
Lord of Useless Posts
Mookie's Avatar
Nov 2006
66
27 Mookie is finding his bearings
Plus, I love how at the bottom of their page, they have BBB and Verisign logos indicating its a secure site. But yet, you can't click on the links to verify.

This place is a sham.
 
Old 03-06-2009, 02:43 PM #7
ethelmonk is offline ethelmonk
I'm a guy Damn It!!
ethelmonk's Avatar
Feb 2009
Chi-Town
206
72 ethelmonk will become famous soon enough
Quote from Mookie View Post :
Plus, I love how at the bottom of their page, they have BBB and Verisign logos indicating its a secure site. But yet, you can't click on the links to verify.

This place is a sham.
 
Old 03-11-2009, 06:18 AM #8
mnerren is offline mnerren
L1: Learner
Mar 2009
2
10 mnerren is finding his bearings
This company is a scam, they will try to do a bait and switch on you. For example, I ordered a TV, using my AMEX card, they didn't have the TV in stock, they sent me a message asking me to call them, they then wanted to try and sell me another TV and I said no. They said they would order the TV, so I agreed. Then, they came back and said there was something wrong with my CC number, I told them it was an AMEX, their system does no edit checks to ensure the card number is real or what type it is, so they indicated they don't take AMEX, I said oh well, that is all I use on the internet for purchases because they will protect the buyer, needless to say, I immediately starting receiving fraudulent charges on my card. AMEX was very easy to deal with and refunded the money and cancelled the card immediately. I would stay very far away from this company.
 
Old 04-13-2009, 11:39 AM #9
bmoore8663 is offline bmoore8663
L1: Learner
Apr 2009
Texas, USA
1
10 bmoore8663 is finding his bearings
Waiting for UPS Tracking number

I ordered a Sharp Aquos LC37D64U 37-Inch 1080p LCD HDTV from this website at the beginning of the month. I received an email stating that I needed to call 212-414-2026 to Confirm. But I didn't see the email until I started getting worried about when I was going to be notified that it was being shipped. When I submitted my order, they had said that I would receive my invoice after my payment had been processed.
I received an email finally after about a week stating that the payment had been approved and my order was being processed. I have not seen the payment on my credit card and I have yet to get notification of the tracking number. From the website, I account was finally updated with the invoice and on the invoice, it stated that it was being shipped UPS. I have called the 212-414-2026 as well as the 877-800-8269 that is to be called if you have any questions. The 877-800-8269 always gives the message "The called party did not answer" without any ringtone. It appears to be the outgoing message. The 212-414-2026 just rings and rings until finally the message: "This call cannot be connected" or goes into a busy signal tone.
I am afraid they may later charge to my credit card. This is stressful.
 
Old 04-14-2009, 07:52 PM #10
ZeroSyztem is offline ZeroSyztem
L6: Expert
ZeroSyztem's Avatar
Nov 2006
1,529
1277 ZeroSyztem has much to be proud of
Quote from mnerren View Post :
This company is a scam, they will try to do a bait and switch on you. For example, I ordered a TV, using my AMEX card, they didn't have the TV in stock, they sent me a message asking me to call them, they then wanted to try and sell me another TV and I said no. They said they would order the TV, so I agreed. Then, they came back and said there was something wrong with my CC number, I told them it was an AMEX, their system does no edit checks to ensure the card number is real or what type it is, so they indicated they don't take AMEX, I said oh well, that is all I use on the internet for purchases because they will protect the buyer, needless to say, I immediately starting receiving fraudulent charges on my card. AMEX was very easy to deal with and refunded the money and cancelled the card immediately. I would stay very far away from this company.
Wow good to know
 
  • ReplyPost Reply


  • Thread Tools Search this Thread
    Search this Thread:

    Advanced Search

    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is Off
    HTML code is Off

     

    Similar Threads
    Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
    http://silmind.com/ Uppity Deal Talk 50 06-23-2009 07:03 PM
    Warner Bros. Batman Gym Slumber Bag Combo For $1 @ Kmart.com Yme001 Deal Talk 10 02-26-2009 05:02 PM
    Price Drop Alerts Made Easy -- http://www.pricepinx.com/ sdaaronr Deal Talk 6 01-19-2009 01:25 PM
    http://www.discountshadesdirect.com good/bad ? tcn75 Deal Talk 1 01-13-2009 09:32 AM


    All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:50 PM.

    Close
    E-mail It