Forum Thread

Dell Precision T3600 MiniTower Xeon 6 core E5-1650 3.2GHz 16gb/500gb (Similar to HP Z420) USED $350 Ebay

$350.00
+18 Deal Score
10,016 Views
This seller has restocked today. I have one on the way from last week but given the popularity of this model and the similar Z420 thought I would post this deal. Note this does not have an OS installed but comes with a windows 7 pro COA. I have not had any issues activating windows 10 PRO with this key on a fresh install. Do a quick re-paste on the CPU
and put in a new GPU (the quadro 4000 in it should sell for $60-$80) and you will have a nice 6 core gaming machine. The power supplies in these are top notch gold rated. Both SATA 0 and 1 ports are Sata 3.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/WH-Dell-P...SwA3dYmecN


DESCRIPTION

THIS PC POWERS ON, BOOTS TO BIOS, AND HAS BEEN TESTED FULLY FUNCTIONAL. THERE IS LIGHT COSMETIC WEAR FROM USE.

FEATURES:

Nvidia Quadro 4000 graphics card

Dell-PERC-H310 Raid Controller

635 watt power supply

Xeon Six Core E5-1650 CPU 3.20GHz

16gb DDR3 RAM

500gb Hard Drive

x2 USB 3.0 ports

CD/DVD/RW Optical Drive

THERE IS NO OPERATING SYSTEM LOADED ON THIS PC.

THE HARD DRIVE HAS BEEN WIPED FROM PREVIOUS OWNERS INFORMATION.

AUCTION INCLUDE

PC, POWER CORD, MEMORY, HARD DRIVE, AND WINDOWS COA STICKER ONLY

AUCTION DOES NOT INCLUDE

MANUAL, OPERATING SYSTEM, CABLES, RESTORE DISCS, WARRANTY, AND ANY OTHER PARTS OR ACCESSORIES
Share
Good deal?
You gave rep to TwinPrime for this post.
Thank you!
TwinPrime posted this deal. Say thanks!
Give Rep Points
If you purchase something through a post on our site, Slickdeals may get a small share of the sale.
Deal
Score
+18
10,016 Views
$350.00

51 Comments

1 2 3 4

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users Show Post
HIDDEN
04-03-2017 at 08:50 AM
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Oct 2007
Get over it
5,278 Posts
2,241 Reputation
Our community has rated this post as helpful. If you agree, why not rep AngryPirate?
#3
I haven't heard these newer Precision workstations, but the older T3500 and T5500 were fairly loud if considering this for home use... especially if in your computer is in a bedroom like mine and you listen to podcasts/pandora/etc. when going to sleep.

Besides that, AWESOME computer for the price!1 Nearly 12k score on cpubenchmark. Not much is going to come close to this performance level in this price range.

Quote from dzltron
:
Old CPU.

http://ark.intel.com/products/646...-Intel-QPI
Old CPU that still smokes the vast majority of the brand new energy efficient crap out there today (in terms of performance).
Reply Helpful Comment? 3 0
Last edited by AngryPirate April 3, 2017 at 09:04 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined May 2015
New User
4 Posts
10 Reputation
#4
I bought the Newegg/Surplus HP z420 deal with this cpu/8GB and Win10Pro - Great machine, very quiet. Not HTPC build silent but quiet. I investigated these Dell Precisions at the same time and my primary concern is that you wouldn't be able to fit a gaming card in there. Maybe a blower style card or a founders edition? But I believe any multifan/fancy card will require trimming of that drive bay to fit.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2005
Spends to much time here
1,613 Posts
207 Reputation
#5
I enjoyed that this MB has both usb 3.0 and ps2 ports... you don't really see that nowadays... lol
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Apr 2006
L5: Journeyman
798 Posts
62 Reputation
#6
I hope there is free shipping.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2013
L8: Grand Teacher
3,100 Posts
1,091 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#7
Quote from thinklinux
:
I hope there is free shipping.

Price is 299 - shipping is 50. The price in the title includes the shipping cost.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Aug 2008
L3: Novice
244 Posts
114 Reputation
#8
I have dealt with the same machine it's very quite. PSU should come with 2 X6/8Pin video card power. The quadro is worth $60-$80 on ebay, CPU about $80-$100. Very solid build and looks very professional.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2008
L6: Expert
1,223 Posts
100 Reputation
#9
Says it comes with Windows COA sticker. Do we know which version of Windows?
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2013
L8: Grand Teacher
3,100 Posts
1,091 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#10
Quote from sxy2003
:
Says it comes with Windows COA sticker. Do we know which version of Windows?
7 Pro but this will activate 10 pro on a fresh install.
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2007
L5: Journeyman
531 Posts
69 Reputation
#11
does anybody know if this can be upgraded to 32 GB ram?
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2015
New User
3 Posts
10 Reputation
#12
How proprietary is this mobo? Can it easily be slapped in another chassis?
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2013
L8: Grand Teacher
3,100 Posts
1,091 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#13
Quote from alfalfa19
:
does anybody know if this can be upgraded to 32 GB ram?

Yes but you will need to buy 4x8GB or 2x16GB sticks. This MB has 4 ram slots populated with 4x4GB.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Apr 2017
L1: Learner
6 Posts
25 Reputation
#14
I bought one from this seller, as did a friend of mine (his hasn't arrived just yet). This is a new listing from the same seller, but the specs appear identical. The seller seems to be doing them in lots of 14-18. The 500gb HDD is a 10,000 rpm WD Veloliraptor, the 16bg of 1600mhz DDR3 is ECC (2 empty slots). The cpu is a Xeon E5-1650 v0 (Sandy Bridge). Chip socket is 2011 LGA.

While the chip is unlocked (as I understand it) the Dell Bios supports no features for tinkering with cpu, mem, etc. Accept it as it is (or spend 400 more on a 2011 socket mb that can OC). For 350 shipped I think its a hell of a bargin. Add an SSD boot drive and a newer graphics card and you are good to go.

I should point out a few issues I had. I haven't updated my bios (came with A11) which might fix this but after sata 0 and sata 1, the other sata ports aren't fully recognized properly. I pulled the raid card since it added boot time and I had no real need for it. The fans are small and high rpm so its not the most quiet system. This is not a standard ATX motherboard. I have never had a Xeon system before so the layout is odd an being Dell somethings are proprietary. You wont be getting this into a standard atx case without a lot of DIY work.

One last thing, if you replace the graphics card you'll likely have to pry off a piece on the inside of the case door as it gets in the way of the 6 pins coming out the top of the video card(s). It's easy with a flat-blade screwdriver to pop the rivets. I don't know if it was anti vibration or what but it comes off easy and has no ill effect. You can add 16g more of the same memory for a total for 32 for around 50 bucks (on ebay) if you want. It can support 128gb's of ram, I think.

PS: My case was perfect minus 1 scuff mark on the back. It still had the plastic film on the Dell logo. No dust on the fans, no scratches around the ports, no signs of use really. Since the seller has bunches of them things will differ. I can only tell you what I got. I hope this was helpful. I hope when my friend gets his in a few days its a similar story.
Reply Helpful Comment? 2 0
Last edited by OPXAlpha1 April 3, 2017 at 11:34 PM. Reason: edit
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2013
L8: Grand Teacher
3,100 Posts
1,091 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#15
Quote from OPXAlpha1
:
I bought one from this seller, as did a friend of mine (his hasn't arrived just yet). This is a new listing from the same seller, but the specs appear identical. The seller seems to be doing them in lots of 14-18. The 500gb HDD is a 10,000 rpm WD Veloliraptor, the 16bg of 1600mhz DDR3 is ECC (2 empty slots). The cpu is a Xeon E5-1650 v0 (Sandy Bridge). Chip socket is 2011 LGA.

While the chip is unlocked (as I understand it) the Dell Bios supports no features for tinkering with cpu, mem, etc. Accept it as it is (or spend 400 more on a 2011 socket mb that can OC). For 350 shipped I think its a hell of a bargin. Add an SSD boot drive and a newer graphics card and you are good to go.

I should point out a few issues I had. I haven't updated my bios (came with A11) which might fix this but after sata 0 and sata 1, the other sata ports aren't fully recognized properly. I pulled the raid card since it added boot time and I had no real need for it. The fans are small and high rpm so its not the most quiet system. This is not a standard ATX motherboard. I have never had a Xeon system before so the layout is odd an being Dell somethings are proprietary. You wont be getting this into a standard atx case without a lot of DIY work.

One last thing, if you replace the graphics card you'll likely have to pry off a piece on the inside of the case door as it gets in the way of the 6 pins coming out the top of the video card(s). It's easy with a flat-blade screwdriver to pop the rivets. I don't know if it was anti vibration or what but it comes off easy and has no ill effect. You can add 16g more of the same memory for a total for 32 for around 50 bucks (on ebay) if you want. It can support 128gb's of ram, I think.

PS: My case was perfect minus 1 scuff mark on the back. It still had the plastic film on the Dell logo. No dust on the fans, no scratches around the ports, no signs of use really. Since the seller has bunches of them things will differ. I can only tell you what I got. I hope this was helpful. I hope when my friend gets his in a few days its a similar story.
Any chance XTU will work for changing the multiplier on the CPU? Also thanks for clarifying the ram config - I was told it was 4x4. 2x8 is much nicer and cheaper for upgrading!
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Last edited by TwinPrime April 4, 2017 at 07:15 AM.
Page 1 of 4
1 2 3 4
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Copyright 1999 - 2018. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard