Forum Thread

Kindle Sci-Fi / Fantasy eBook Sale - Leviathan Awakes (The Expanse) - James Corey, The Fifth Season - NK Jemisin, The Boy on the Bridge - MR Carey, + more - $2.99 each Amazon

+6 Deal Score
4,831 Views
Leviathan Awakes (The Expanse Book 1) - James Corey - $2.99 [amazon.com]
4.5 stars in 1,851 reviews

The first book in the landmark Expanse series, now a major television series from Syfy!

Leviathan Wakes is James S. A. Corey's first novel in the epic, New York Times bestselling series the Expanse, a modern masterwork of science fiction where humanity has colonized the solar system.

Two hundred years after migrating into space, mankind is in turmoil. When a reluctant ship's captain and washed-up detective find themselves involved in the case of a missing girl, what they discover brings our solar system to the brink of civil war, and exposes the greatest conspiracy in human history.



The Fifth Season (Broken Earth Book 1) - N.K. Jemisin - $2.99 [amazon.com]
4.4 stars in 864 reviews

WINNER OF THE HUGO AWARD FOR BEST NOVEL 2016

"Intricate and extraordinary."―The New York Times

"[The Fifth Season is] an ambitious book, with a shifting point of view, and a protagonist whose full complexity doesn't become apparent till toward the end of the novel. ... Jemisin's work itself is part of a slow but definite change in sci-fi and fantasy."―Guardian

"Astounding... Jemisin maintains a gripping voice and an emotional core that not only carries the story through its complicated setting, but sets things up for even more staggering revelations to come."―NPR Books

"Jemisin's graceful prose and gritty setting provide the perfect backdrop for this fascinating tale of determined characters fighting to save a doomed world."―Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

"A must-buy...breaks uncharted ground."―Library Journal (starred review)

"Jemisin might just be the best world builder out there right now.... [She] is a master at what she does."―RT Book Reviews (Top Pick!)

"The Fifth Season is a powerful, epic novel of discovery, pain, and heartbreak.... It is a novel that demands much of its readers; it rewards them aplenty and is one of those novels that becomes more powerful after deep consideration and subsequent readings."―SFF World

"This is an intense, exciting novel, where survival is always on the line, set in a fascinating, original and dangerous world with an intriguing mystery at the heart of it. I can't wait to see what happens in the next book!"―Martha Wells

"Brilliant...gorgeous writing and unexpected plot twists."―Washington Post

"[A]ngrily, beautifully apocalyptic."―B&N.com



Ancillary Justice (Imperial Radch Book 1) by Ann Leckie - $2.99
[amazon.com]
4.1 stars in 1,266 reviews

The only novel ever to win the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Awards and the first book in Ann Leckie's New York Times bestselling trilogy.

"If you don't know the Ancillary series by now, you probably should. Ann Leckie's sociopolitical space opera almost singlehandedly breathed new cool into the stereotype of spaceships trundling through far-off systems amid laser battles. ... [Ancillary Mercy] earns the credit it's received: As a capstone to a series that shook genre expectations, as our closing installment of an immersively realized world, and as the poignant story of a ship that learned to sing."―NPR Books on Ancillary Mercy

"Powerful."―The New York Times on Ancillary Sword

"Unexpected, compelling and very cool. Ann Leckie nails it...I've never met a heroine like Breq before. I consider this a very good thing indeed."―John Scalzi

"Ancillary Justice is the mind-blowing space opera you've been needing...This is a novel that will thrill you like the page-turner it is, but stick with you for a long time afterward."―i09.com (included in 'This Fall's Must-Read Science Fiction and Fantasy Books')

"It's not every day a debut novel by an author you'd never heard of before derails your entire afternoon with its brilliance. But when my review copy of Ancillary Justice arrived, that's exactly what it did. In fact, it arrowed upward to reach a pretty high position on my list of best space opera novels ever."―Liz Bourke, Tor.com

"A double-threaded narrative proves seductive, drawing the reader into the naive but determined protagonist's efforts to transform an unjust universe. Leckie uses...an expansionist galaxy-spinning empire [and] a protagonist on a single-minded quest for justice to transcend space-opera conventions in innovative ways. This impressive debut succeeds in making Breq a protagonist readers will invest in, and establishes Leckie as a talent to watch."―Publishers Weekly

"By turns thrilling, moving and awe-inspiring."―The Guardian

"Leckie does a very good job of setting this complex equation up... This is an altogether promising debut."―Kirkus

"Using the format of SF military adventure blended with hints of space opera, Leckie explores the expanded meaning of human nature and the uneasy balance between individuality and membership in a group identity. Leckie is a newcomer to watch as she expands on the history and future of her new and exciting universe."―Library Journal

"Leckie's debut gives casual and hardcore sci-fi fans alike a wonderful read."―RT Book Reviews


The Boy on the Bridge - M. R. Carey - $2.99
[amazon.com]
4.4 stars in 159 reviews

From the author of USA Today bestseller The Girl With All the Gifts, a terrifying new novel set in the same post-apocalyptic world.


"Carey writes with compassion and fire - strange and surprising and humane"―Lauren Beukes, author of The Shining Girls

"A terrifying, emotional page-turner that explores what it means to be human."―Kirkus

"Thoughtful and compelling"―RT Book Reviews

"A tense story with superbly rendered characters and the same blend of tragedy and hope."―SciFiNow

"[A] brilliant character study as much as a tense, satisfying post-apocalyptic thriller."―B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog

"The Boy on the Bridge is a careful companion, including thematic parallels that remind us, in sometimes horrific ways, that our actions always have wider consequences than we think."―NPR

"The stakes are higher than ever...action-packed...Fans of Carey and readers of Ben H. Winters or Steven Barnes will enjoy."―Library Journal



The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy) by James Islington - $2.99
[amazon.com]
4.3 stars in 855 reviews

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series." - B&N SF & Fantasy Blog

"Storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire." - Guardian

"Islington has built a world with all the right genre elements: complex magic, terrifying threats out of legend, political intrigue, and a large cast of characters whose motivations are seldom clear. Fans of doorstop epic fantasy will not be disappointed." - Publishers Weekly

"Ingeniously plotted...Islington's natural storytelling ability provides incessant plot twists and maintains a relentless pace...A promising page-turner from a poised newcomer." - Kirkus


It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them - the Gifted - are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion's Four Tenets, vastly limiting their powers.

As a Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he sets into motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian's wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is...

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated begins to stir.
Share
Good deal?
You gave rep to megakimcheelove for this post.
Thank you!
megakimcheelove posted this deal. Say thanks!
Give Rep Points
Add Comment
Created 02-14-2018 at 08:29 AM by megakimcheelove
If you purchase something through a post on our site, Slickdeals may get a small share of the sale.
Deal
Score
+6
4,831 Views
Don't have Amazon Prime? Students can get a free 6-Month Amazon Prime trial with free 2-day shipping, unlimited video streaming & more. If you're not a student, there's also a free 1-Month Amazon Prime trial available.

5 Comments

1

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Oct 2010
L7: Teacher
2,252 Posts
1,970 Reputation
#2
The Fifth Season looks good, anyone recommend it?

And I always wonder if my $1 no-rush credits will work on these because sometimes they do and sometimes, well, they don't
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Nov 2010
L2: Beginner
74 Posts
42 Reputation
#3
I picked up the two Hugo winners before work this morning and wanted to make a post, but was incredibly busy. Glad someone else made one.

Hachette is the seller of much or maybe all the stuff on sale today rather than Amazon so that is why no rush credits won't apply. I'm all out of no rush credits at the moment in any case.
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2007
Researcher
6,386 Posts
3,553 Reputation
Pro
#4
Quote from gymsock
:
The Fifth Season looks good, anyone recommend it?

And I always wonder if my $1 no-rush credits will work on these because sometimes they do and sometimes, well, they don't
Like the other poster noted, it must be sold by Amazon, and these are sold by Hachette. I've read The Fifth Season and I found it a refreshingly different not quite dystopian fantasy (though it goes there, and the story opens with the disaster happening, so that's not a spoiler). I enjoyed the first story, but the sequel is setting up for it to be integrate with our history, and starts trying to take what I thought was a fantasy story and make if SF. I think it suffers for this, but often the middle book in a trilogy bogs down due to them being where more of the world is explained, and a setup for the final book. I still plan to read the last book when my library gets it.

FYI Ancillary Justice (Imperial Radch Book 1) by Ann Leckie is a fascinating hard SF story dealing with distributed intelligence and how a society would develop if you could "overwrite" people's brains with other people's info, or turn them into soldiers, etc. The author does a superb job of looking at all the implications. The second book was weaker, again due to it being a bridge/development story. The second one is a much more typical SF action story, though it does a nice job of setting up more of the universe and there are some interesting hints on where it is going. Same thing, I plan to read the third one too. Check if you local library has a eBook reader/loan app. I got both of these stories via that route, mine uses an app called Overdrive. Smilie
Reply Helpful Comment? 2 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Oct 2008
L2: Beginner
58 Posts
10 Reputation
#5
All back up to regular price.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Apr 2016
L1: Learner
23 Posts
10 Reputation
#6
I swear newegg always waits until a day or two after I order something to put it on sale.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Page 1 of 1
1
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Copyright 1999 - 2018. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard