Sorry, this deal has expired. Get notified of deals like this in the future. Add Deal Alert for this Item
Frontpage Deal

Altered Carbon (Kindle / Google Play / Nook eBook) EXPIRED

$3
+61 Deal Score
13,431 Views
Amazon has Altered Carbon (Kindle eBook) by Richard K. Morgan on sale for $2.99. Thanks megakimcheelove & Raeynn

Google Play Books also has Altered Carbon (Google eBook) on sale for $2.99.

Barnes & Noble also has Altered Carbon (Nook eBook) on sale for $2.99.

Note, recently adapted as a Netflix Original Series (IMDb).
Share
Good deal?
You gave rep to megakimcheelove for this post.
Thank you!
megakimcheelove posted this deal. Say thanks!
Give Rep Points

Editor's Notes & Price Research

Written by

Original Post

Written by
Edited July 29, 2018 at 09:09 AM by
Amazon and Google Play have the eBook edition of Altered Carbon by Richard Morgan on sale for $2.99


4.2 stars in 945 reviews


Personally can recommend this book for fans of William Gibson, Bruce Sterling, China Mieville and Neal Stephenson


https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000FBFMZ2


https://play.google.com/store/boo...M-hFhzYREC


EW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NOW AN EXCITING NEW SERIES FROM NETFLIX • The shell that blew a hole in his chest was only the beginning in this "tour de force of genre-bending, a brilliantly realized exercise in science fiction."—The New York Times Book Review

In the twenty-fifth century, humankind has spread throughout the galaxy, monitored by the watchful eye of the U.N. While divisions in race, religion, and class still exist, advances in technology have redefined life itself. Now, assuming one can afford the expensive procedure, a person's consciousness can be stored in a cortical stack at the base of the brain and easily downloaded into a new body (or "sleeve") making death nothing more than a minor blip on a screen.

Ex-U.N. envoy Takeshi Kovacs has been killed before, but his last death was particularly painful. Dispatched one hundred eighty light-years from home, re-sleeved into a body in Bay City (formerly San Francisco, now with a rusted, dilapidated Golden Gate Bridge), Kovacs is thrown into the dark heart of a shady, far-reaching conspiracy that is vicious even by the standards of a society that treats "existence" as something that can be bought and sold.
If you purchase something through a post on our site, Slickdeals may get a small share of the sale.
Deal
Score
+61
13,431 Views
About the OP
Give Rep Send Message
Pro
Anywhere with an aperitivo Joined Nov 2008 Alternative Fact <> Truth
9,759 Reputation Points
722 Deals Posted
1,242 Votes Submitted
5,178 Comments Posted
Don't have Amazon Prime? Students can get a free 6-Month Amazon Prime trial with free 2-day shipping, unlimited video streaming & more. If you're not a student, there's also a free 1-Month Amazon Prime trial available.

39 Comments

1 2 3

Featured Comments

That show was impressive AF. I blew through it and that is not my kind of genre. My nephew got me hooked.
14 Helpful?
Altered Carbon is the only instance where the show is better than the book (in my opinion.) There's some differences I prefer in the books (such as the whole Envoy thing) but overall I was really disappointed in the book, considering how much I enjoyed the show.

Def not knocking the OP, good post, just wanted to share my opinion in case anyone is on the fence about whether to throw a whopping $3 at it.
7 Helpful?

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2013
Deal Hunter
423 Posts
305 Reputation
Pro
#3
Also $2.99 on Barnes and Noble, Nook if anyone is looking like myself. Great series and looking forward to the book, thanks OP!

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/?...0345457707
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Sep 2006
L8: Grand Teacher
3,368 Posts
886 Reputation
Our community has rated this post as helpful. If you agree, why not rep PrncsNYC?
#4
That show was impressive AF. I blew through it and that is not my kind of genre. My nephew got me hooked.
Reply Helpful Comment? 14 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jan 2011
L6: Expert
1,702 Posts
1,941 Reputation
#5
Quote from RevOne
:
Google Play Books also has Altered Carbon (Google eBook) on sale for $2.99.
The Google Play link isn't working.
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2013
__________________
7,182 Posts
13,503 Reputation
Pro Deal Editor
#6
Quote from desimillionaire
:
The Google Play link isn't working.
Thanks desimillionaire Smilie Fixed.
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Nov 2011
L6: Expert
1,886 Posts
647 Reputation
#7
I cannot stay awake through the Netflix series. Is the book better?
Reply Helpful Comment? 5 5
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Nov 2011
L3: Novice
187 Posts
34 Reputation
#8
Just finished the show. Very interesting. Not a big sci fi fan but from the show you could tell this was based off a book. I am willing to bet this will be a great book.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined May 2013
L2: Beginner
40 Posts
10 Reputation
Our community has rated this post as helpful. If you agree, why not rep Chris11882?
#9
Altered Carbon is the only instance where the show is better than the book (in my opinion.) There's some differences I prefer in the books (such as the whole Envoy thing) but overall I was really disappointed in the book, considering how much I enjoyed the show.

Def not knocking the OP, good post, just wanted to share my opinion in case anyone is on the fence about whether to throw a whopping $3 at it.
Reply Helpful Comment? 10 3

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2011
L3: Novice
123 Posts
53 Reputation
#10
Quote from PrncsNYC
:
That show was impressive AF. I blew through it and that is not my kind of genre. My nephew got me hooked.
One of the best series I've seen in a while. And then they went and threw in a naked ninja sword fight! Not sure how well that works when you're reading.
Reply Helpful Comment? 2 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2012
L4: Apprentice
449 Posts
86 Reputation
#11
Quote from ArhcAngel
:
One of the best series I've seen in a while. And then they went and threw in a naked ninja sword fight! Not sure how well that works when you're reading.
Wife and I REALLY enjoyed this show.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2017
L2: Beginner
70 Posts
58 Reputation
#12
Looks like opinion on the show is divided. My wife and I gave up after 3 episodes. Put me on the "didn't like it" team.

I found the visuals were really impressive but the story line was uninteresting and the only character who was mildly likable was an AI character. They certainly had a large computer graphics budget- shame they didn't spend much money on hiring decent actors or script writers. The female cop was really cringeworthy.

I truly hope the book is better than the show.
Reply Helpful Comment? 5 5
Last edited by OrganicSeaMonkey July 26, 2018 at 12:16 PM.
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2007
L3: Novice
181 Posts
55 Reputation
#13
I read the books when they were new. I really enjoyed them.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Feb 2011
L4: Apprentice
380 Posts
59 Reputation
Pro
Our community has rated this post as helpful. If you agree, why not rep Kairi?
#14
Quote from OrganicSeaMonkey
:
Looks like opinion on the show is divided. My wife and I gave up after 3 episodes. Put me on the "didn't like it" team.

I found the visuals were really impressive but the story line was uninteresting and the only character who was mildly likable was an AI character. They certainly had a large computer graphics budget- shame they didn't spend much money on hiring decent actors or script writers. The female cop was really cringeworthy.

I truly hope the book is better than the show.
Exactly, I thought the same. The cyberpunk atmosphere was perfect, but the acting was really poor on many levels. They didn't sell it for me.

The only good characters was the hotel AI, and I also liked the black guy, who was Kovac's partner. His performance was convincing. Everyone else seemed out of place, or acting in a play -- too aware of their audience or behind the scenes crew.
Reply Helpful Comment? 5 2
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2012
L5: Journeyman
839 Posts
119 Reputation
#15
The Netflix show is my favorite scifi show of recent years (I know is not for every one.)
Reply Helpful Comment? 2 0
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Copyright 1999 - 2018. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard