Sorry, this deal has expired. Get notified of deals like this in the future. Add Deal Alert for this Item
Frontpage Deal

The Fireman by Joe Hill (Kindle / Google Play eBook) EXPIRED

$2
+41 Deal Score
9,453 Views
HarperCollins Publishers via Amazon has The Fireman (Kindle eBook) by Joe Hill on sale for $1.99. Thanks megakimcheelove

Google Play Books also has The Fireman (Google eBook) by Joe Hill on sale for $1.99.

Description:
  • From the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of "NOS4A2" and "Heart-Shaped Box" (Joseph Hillstrom King aka "Joe Hill", son of author Stephen King) comes a chilling novel about a worldwide pandemic of spontaneous combustion that threatens to reduce civilization to ashes and a band of improbable heroes who battle to save it, led by one powerful and enigmatic man known as the Fireman.
Share
Good deal?
You gave rep to megakimcheelove for this post.
Thank you!
megakimcheelove posted this deal. Say thanks!
Give Rep Points

Editor's Notes & Price Research

Written by

Original Post

Written by
Edited January 3, 2019 at 11:02 AM by
Amazon and Google Play have the eBook edition of The Fireman by Joe Hill on sale for $1.99. A great read for fans of The Stand, Swan Song, The Passage, etc

4.2 stars in 1,660 reviews


https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013C5M08O
https://play.google.com/store/boo...lKCgAAQBAJ




From the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of NOS4A2 and Heart-Shaped Box comes a chilling novel about a worldwide pandemic of spontaneous combustion that threatens to reduce civilization to ashes and a band of improbable heroes who battle to save it, led by one powerful and enigmatic man known as the Fireman.
The fireman is coming. Stay cool.No one knows exactly when it began or where it originated. A terrifying new plague is spreading like wildfire across the country, striking cities one by one: Boston, Detroit, Seattle. The doctors call it Draco Incendia Trychophyton. To everyone else it's Dragonscale, a highly contagious, deadly spore that marks its hosts with beautiful black and gold marks across their bodies—before causing them to burst into flames. Millions are infected; blazes erupt everywhere. There is no antidote. No one is safe.

Harper Grayson, a compassionate, dedicated nurse as pragmatic as Mary Poppins, treated hundreds of infected patients before her hospital burned to the ground. Now she's discovered the telltale gold-flecked marks on her skin. When the outbreak first began, she and her husband, Jakob, had made a pact: they would take matters into their own hands if they became infected. To Jakob's dismay, Harper wants to live—at least until the fetus she is carrying comes to term. At the hospital, she witnessed infected mothers give birth to healthy babies and believes hers will be fine too. . . if she can live long enough to deliver the child.

Convinced that his do-gooding wife has made him sick, Jakob becomes unhinged, and eventually abandons her as their placid New England community collapses in terror. The chaos gives rise to ruthless Cremation Squads—armed, self-appointed posses roaming the streets and woods to exterminate those who they believe carry the spore. But Harper isn't as alone as she fears: a mysterious and compelling stranger she briefly met at the hospital, a man in a dirty yellow fire fighter's jacket, carrying a hooked iron bar, straddles the abyss between insanity and death. Known as The Fireman, he strolls the ruins of New Hampshire, a madman afflicted with Dragonscale who has learned to control the fire within himself, using it as a shield to protect the hunted . . . and as a weapon to avenge the wronged.

In the desperate season to come, as the world burns out of control, Harper must learn the Fireman's secrets before her life—and that of her unborn child—goes up in smoke.
If you purchase something through a post on our site, Slickdeals may get a small share of the sale.
Deal
Score
+41
9,453 Views
About the OP
Give Rep Send Message
Pro
Anywhere with an aperitivo Joined Nov 2008 Alternative Fact <> Truth
10,514 Reputation Points
762 Deals Posted
1,291 Votes Submitted
5,294 Comments Posted
Don't have Amazon Prime? Students can get a free 6-Month Amazon Prime trial with free 2-day shipping, unlimited video streaming & more. If you're not a student, there's also a free 1-Month Amazon Prime trial available.

25 Comments

1 2

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2013
Latex Salesman
571 Posts
157 Reputation
#3
Oh snap....This post triggered my Mary Poppins alert.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 2
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Oct 2017
L6: Expert
1,314 Posts
2,772 Reputation
#4
Joe looks just like his dad!
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Sep 2013
L2: Beginner
26 Posts
18 Reputation
#5
I enjoyed Horns and NOS4A2, but The Firemen was tedious.
Reply Helpful Comment? 2 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Oct 2017
L2: Beginner
35 Posts
88 Reputation
#6
Fantastic book in the vein of his father's The Stand meets Firestarter! Really loved this book. Soon to be a movie!! Great deal!!
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Apr 2006
World dominator and rebel
38,233 Posts
4,148 Reputation
#7
Quote from keithnh44
:
Oh snap....This post triggered my Mary Poppins alert.
Not sure I want to know why you have one EEK!
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 1
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Nov 2009
You're Under!
294 Posts
116 Reputation
#8
Lol, Joe Hill, uses an alias to release without the shadow of his father...

marketed via word-of-mouth as Stephen King's son...

the guy is in a lose-lose. For what it's worth, I hear he is very good.
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 5
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Nov 2005
L3: Novice
109 Posts
18 Reputation
#9
The audiobook was great!
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 1

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Apr 2014
L3: Novice
277 Posts
62 Reputation
#10
Thanks no wait for it at my library, downloaded it.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2004
L2: Beginner
55 Posts
16 Reputation
#11
Poor guy will forever be known as "da son"
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jan 2014
L1: Learner
12 Posts
10 Reputation
#12
Quote from PowderdToastMan
:
Lol, Joe Hill, uses an alias to release without the shadow of his father...

marketed via word-of-mouth as Stephen King's son...

the guy is in a lose-lose. For what it's worth, I hear he is very good.
I've yet to read this or his short story compilations, but his other novels and Locke and Key are very good.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Apr 2006
World dominator and rebel
38,233 Posts
4,148 Reputation
#13
One post apocalyptic book (series actually) that i recommend is the one second after, by John matherson
Reply Helpful Comment? 3 1
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2011
Fist of the North Star
471 Posts
44 Reputation
Our community has rated this post as helpful. If you agree, why not rep riskbreaker76?
#14
Forget about his novels...his comic Locke & Key w/ artist Gabriel Rodriguez is his magnum opus story.
Reply Helpful Comment? 3 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Nov 2011
L100: Addict
2,199 Posts
Pro
#15
Quote from lukeap
:
The audiobook was great!
The audiobook is 12.99.. Ooof
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Page 1 of 2
1 2
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Copyright 1999 - 2019. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard