Sorry, this deal has expired. Get notified of deals like this in the future. Add Deal Alert for this Item
Frontpage Deal

The Fireman by Joe Hill (Kindle / Google Play eBook) EXPIRED

$2
$18.98
+41 Deal Score
10,207 Views
HarperCollins Publishers via Amazon has The Fireman (Kindle eBook) by Joe Hill on sale for $1.99. Thanks megakimcheelove

Google Play Books also has The Fireman (Google eBook) by Joe Hill on sale for $1.99.

Description:
  • From the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of "NOS4A2" and "Heart-Shaped Box" (Joseph Hillstrom King aka "Joe Hill", son of author Stephen King) comes a chilling novel about a worldwide pandemic of spontaneous combustion that threatens to reduce civilization to ashes and a band of improbable heroes who battle to save it, led by one powerful and enigmatic man known as the Fireman.
Share
Good deal?
You gave thanks to megakimcheelove for this post.
Thank you!
megakimcheelove posted this deal. Say thanks!

Original Post

Written by
Edited January 3, 2019 at 10:02 AM by
Amazon and Google Play have the eBook edition of The Fireman by Joe Hill on sale for $1.99. A great read for fans of The Stand, Swan Song, The Passage, etc

4.2 stars in 1,660 reviews


https://www.amazon.com/dp/B013C5M08O
https://play.google.com/store/boo...lKCgAAQBAJ




From the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of NOS4A2 and Heart-Shaped Box comes a chilling novel about a worldwide pandemic of spontaneous combustion that threatens to reduce civilization to ashes and a band of improbable heroes who battle to save it, led by one powerful and enigmatic man known as the Fireman.
The fireman is coming. Stay cool.No one knows exactly when it began or where it originated. A terrifying new plague is spreading like wildfire across the country, striking cities one by one: Boston, Detroit, Seattle. The doctors call it Draco Incendia Trychophyton. To everyone else it's Dragonscale, a highly contagious, deadly spore that marks its hosts with beautiful black and gold marks across their bodies—before causing them to burst into flames. Millions are infected; blazes erupt everywhere. There is no antidote. No one is safe.

Harper Grayson, a compassionate, dedicated nurse as pragmatic as Mary Poppins, treated hundreds of infected patients before her hospital burned to the ground. Now she's discovered the telltale gold-flecked marks on her skin. When the outbreak first began, she and her husband, Jakob, had made a pact: they would take matters into their own hands if they became infected. To Jakob's dismay, Harper wants to live—at least until the fetus she is carrying comes to term. At the hospital, she witnessed infected mothers give birth to healthy babies and believes hers will be fine too. . . if she can live long enough to deliver the child.

Convinced that his do-gooding wife has made him sick, Jakob becomes unhinged, and eventually abandons her as their placid New England community collapses in terror. The chaos gives rise to ruthless Cremation Squads—armed, self-appointed posses roaming the streets and woods to exterminate those who they believe carry the spore. But Harper isn't as alone as she fears: a mysterious and compelling stranger she briefly met at the hospital, a man in a dirty yellow fire fighter's jacket, carrying a hooked iron bar, straddles the abyss between insanity and death. Known as The Fireman, he strolls the ruins of New Hampshire, a madman afflicted with Dragonscale who has learned to control the fire within himself, using it as a shield to protect the hunted . . . and as a weapon to avenge the wronged.

In the desperate season to come, as the world burns out of control, Harper must learn the Fireman's secrets before her life—and that of her unborn child—goes up in smoke.
If you purchase something through a post on our site, Slickdeals may get a small share of the sale.
Deal
Score
+41
10,207 Views
$2
$18.98
Don't have Amazon Prime? Students can get a free 6-Month Amazon Prime trial with free 2-day shipping, unlimited video streaming & more. If you're not a student, there's also a free 1-Month Amazon Prime trial available.

26 Comments

1 2

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2013
Latex Salesman
641 Posts
177 Reputation
#16
Quote from SDRebel
:
Not sure I want to know why you have one https://static.slickdealscdn.com/images/smilies/eek.gif
LOL - I was looking for a deal on tix to the new movie.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Aug 2013
L8: Grand Teacher
3,941 Posts
368 Reputation
Pro
#17
First super bad now this. Multi talented
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 2
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Sep 2017
New User
8 Posts
10 Reputation
#18
Quote from lukejizzum
:
First super bad now this. Multi talented
Ehhh, not sure if you're rolling for humor, or just confused Jonah Hill with Joe Hill, but uhh.. yeah, good joke?
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2008
L5: Journeyman
788 Posts
636 Reputation
#19
so gooooood Smilie
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Apr 2006
L10: Grand Master
8,255 Posts
1,513 Reputation
#20
Bought for $2.99 quite awhile ago. Pick this up!
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2007
L3: Novice
194 Posts
55 Reputation
#21
It's an excellent read - a steal at this price.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Aug 2011
L4: Apprentice
494 Posts
68 Reputation
#22
Quote from dammitdamian
:
Fantastic book in the vein of his father's The Stand meets Firestarter! Really loved this book. Soon to be a movie!! Great deal!!
With a few nods to The Dark Tower, as well. And I was reminded of the recent One Second/One Year/Last Day trilogy by William Forstchen.
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 0

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2011
L2: Beginner
76 Posts
22 Reputation
#23
I didn't like this book at all and had no idea he was Stephan King's son. It was a great premise, had some decent characters, but didn't come together well enough. It was long and parts were very slow and didn't add to the overall plot. I was left feeling like it has such great potential but just didn't pay off.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2009
L3: Novice
271 Posts
112 Reputation
#24
No one has mentioned his best work - Heart-Shaped Box. I would recommend (and have many, many times) this book.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined May 2010
L1: Learner
17 Posts
10 Reputation
#25
Loved this book, but it appears to be back up to $14.99 in both places now.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Apr 2012
L5: Journeyman
661 Posts
633 Reputation
#26
Quote from cynakr
:
No one has mentioned his best work - Heart-Shaped Box. I would recommend (and have many, many times) this book.
Heart Shaped Box was the first thing of his I read and I was very impressed. Since then I've read all his other works but hadn't heard of The Fireman, Took another's suggestion on here and just downloaded it from my library. Especially with such mixed reviews - free is good. Plus I'm also shocked my library actually has it, they rarely have titles I'm looking for.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Nov 2011
L3: Novice
185 Posts
18 Reputation
#27
Ahhhh I read this and enjoyed this. And now I see here he is the son of The Master of the Universe—— Stephen King...... YES !!!!
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Page 2 of 2
1 2
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 

Shop More Black Friday Deals

Copyright 1999 - 2019. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard