Sorry, this deal has expired. Get notified of deals like this in the future. Add Deal Alert for this Item
Frontpage Deal

Sam's Club Members: VIZIO 5.1.2-Chan Soundbar System w/ 6" Wireless Subwoofer EXPIRED

$279
$449.00
+ Free Shipping
+28 Deal Score
28,156 Views
Sam's Club has for its Members: VIZIO 5.1.2-Channel Soundbar System w/ 6" Wireless Subwoofer & Dolby Atmos (SB36512-F6) for $279. Shipping is free, otherwise free store pickup is available where stock permits. Thanks jthamaraikannan

Note, must be signed into your Sam's Club account to see the discounted price at checkout.

Includes:
  • 2x rear satellite speakers
  • 2x satellite speaker audio cables
  • 36" 5-channel Sound bar
  • HDMI 2.0 cable, digital optical cable, stereo RCA to 3.5mm audio cable, 3.5mm to 3.5mm audio cable, coaxial audio cable
  • LCD display remote control with 2x AAA batteries
  • Quick start guide
  • Sound bar and subwoofer power cables
  • Wall mount accessories and template
  • Wireless subwoofer with 6" driver
Share
Good deal?
You gave thanks to jthamaraikannan for this post.
Thank you!
jthamaraikannan posted this deal. Say thanks!

Original Post

Written by
Edited August 7, 2020 at 05:39 PM by
Vizio 36" 5.1.2 Dolby Atmos Home Theater System

https://www.samsclub.com/p/vizio-...roduct_1_1
If you purchase something through a post on our site, Slickdeals may get a small share of the sale.
Deal
Score
+28
28,156 Views
$279
$449.00

73 Comments

1 2 3 4 5

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2003
Me
316 Posts
101 Reputation
#61
Ordered this last time and they sent me the $999 soundbar. SB46514-F6 Not kidding. Almost shit myself. It wasn't even listed on their site at the time. Even with it being their best model, it still has constant issues.
3
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined May 2013
L3: Novice
197 Posts
104 Reputation
#62
Bought it for $10 more at Best Buy. But it says I should have it Thursday vs. next week. Watching the Star Wars movies with my daughter for the first time and it'll be nice to have next weekend for the next movie.
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined May 2013
L3: Novice
197 Posts
104 Reputation
#63
question for those that own it. Is the HDMI cable in the box arc compatible?
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Nov 2010
L4: Apprentice
632 Posts
46 Reputation
#64
had vizio 5.1.4 from costco for 299 - good price but still returned because ARC is absolutely terrible on this device. so many bugs.
1
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jan 2007
L3: Novice
132 Posts
49 Reputation
#65
I have this exact set and below are is my experience on how to get Atmos / make it not shut off etc. My TV is a TCL 65R625. I have an Apple TV 4K, Xbox One, and Switch.

1) In order to get true Atmos, you need to connect directly to the HDMI IN of this soundbar. Then connect the HDMI OUT (ARC) to the TV's HDMI ARC port. I get Atmos from Apple TV 4K Atmos contents, as well as playing 4K UHD Blu-rays on the Xbox One.

2) Connecting the Apple TV and Xbox etc to the TV directly, then have the TV pass the audio signal back to the soundbar through ARC works, but it will be decoded already by the TV instead of raw Atmos. If the signal is Atmos, a "green" light will show up on the soundbar when you play Atmos content. This only happens if you do (1), or have eARC (I don't have eARC so I cannot test eARC).

3) Since the sound bar only has 1 HDMI IN port, I was plugging/un-plugging my Apple TV/Xbox manually. This is ghetto and it will eventually wear down the HDMI port on the sound bar. I tried those cheap un-powered HDMI switches on Amazon, and they did not work. At the end, I bought this one and it works. I believe any decent $30-$40 *powered* HDMI switches will work. I have it connected to the HDMI IN port of the soundbar. My ATV/Xbox/Switch are connected to this switch:

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/insi...Id=6319221

4) If you reach here, you might have heard of the sound bar shutting off on its own. I had this issue in the beginning, but have not had this issue for nearly a year. Below is what I do:

4a) I think this is *the most important* step - turn off HDMI CEC from all devices connected to the sound bar. I turned the HDMI CEC off for the Apple TV, Xbox, Switch, and the TV. One of the features of HDMI CEC is powering down devices together. I suspect either the protocol was not clear and each manufacturer did it a little differently, or Vizio did not implement this feature correctly.

4b) I turned off "eco power off" from the remote, as well as the SmartCast app. For good measures, I put the Vizio remote into a drawer so the bar cannot be accidentally be turned off by the remote.

4c) Install the SmartCast app and make sure you have the latest firmware updated. As well as connect the soundbar to the wifi, so you can get firmware updates. You will need to use the app to find out whether the sound bar is receiving Atmos signals, and tweak the channels anyway. With the app, you can do "system" -> "system information" -> "sound bar information" to find out what audio signal it is getting at the moment. It will show Atmos if it is playing Atmos contents (and green light briefly on the bar).

Ask me if you have questions. I am not here to argue whether this bar has true Atmos, or whether you can build a full system much better for $x etc. Just some advice from someone who has owned this for a while.

p.s. Apple TV settings need to be correct in order to play 4K / Atmos as well. Apple TV info is easy to find online so I am not going to write about it here.

Oh and make sure you have good cables. I solved many early issues after replacing my HDMI cables (which I did not know how I got them) to "Certified Premium" cables. You don't have to get Monoprice but you definitely need good quality HDMI cables:

https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-...222&sr=8-3
5
0
0
1
Reply
Last edited by likashing August 9, 2020 at 02:10 AM.
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2006
L10: Grand Master
32,507 Posts
6,584 Reputation
Pro
#66
nice tips to try, I'm still messing with mine almost two years later. I gave up keeping things tidy with all the gear upgrades and swapping between two TVs.

golly, good thing I checked in, haven't use the app in ages. I ran through setup again to get online and a new firmware update. I don't like using manuals, even if I had one. I just stumbled onto the remote Wifi reset or the app won't find it. Kind of nice voice directions as you go but a slow update.
1
0
0
0
Reply
Last edited by monkeybiz August 8, 2020 at 11:22 PM.
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Apr 2006
L1: Learner
13 Posts
18 Reputation
#67
I have this soundbar and I love it and have had only one problem with it, and I'm pretty sure it's related to one of my HDMI switchers. Sometimes it won't recognize a source is 4K and will limit it to 720p or 1080p and usually would disable surround sound from my PC too, and it would require me to unplug my switcher and plug it back in. To fix this, I added a second switcher that let me manually switch sources with a hardware button (which basically let it function sort of the same way as unplugging it without having to). My entire cable set up is super stupid and convoluted, and it's almost entirely because Nintendo's systems are LPCM surround sound only (you can't do surround LPCM via optical or ARC). I'll show you all how absurdly stupid my cable set up is, lol: https://i.imgur.com/wc30moO.png

A friend of mine looked at that and said it gave him anxiety just looking at it. But this is pretty much still the most affordable option with a lot of things to hook up. If you don't have Nintendo systems or you do and don't care about them having surround sound, you could just use ARC and good lord, wouldn't that be a hell of a lot simpler! That, or if you have a newer, possibly more sophisticated 4K/Atmos capable HDMI switcher, you probably won't even encounter this problem.
0
0
0
0
Reply

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Mar 2004
L5: Journeyman
1,523 Posts
205 Reputation
#68
Having wifi on soundbar is the dumbest idea. Any vizio soundbar with wifi (aka smartcast) is buggy. Their non wifi models usually are good.
0
0
0
1
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Nov 2012
L5: Journeyman
571 Posts
102 Reputation
#69
Quote from angle123
:
Having wifi on soundbar is the dumbest idea. Any vizio soundbar with wifi (aka smartcast) is buggy. Their non wifi models usually are good.
Why is it a dumb idea?
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jan 2007
L3: Novice
132 Posts
49 Reputation
#70
Quote from otimus
:
I have this soundbar and I love it and have had only one problem with it, and I'm pretty sure it's related to one of my HDMI switchers. Sometimes it won't recognize a source is 4K and will limit it to 720p or 1080p and usually would disable surround sound from my PC too, and it would require me to unplug my switcher and plug it back in. To fix this, I added a second switcher that let me manually switch sources with a hardware button (which basically let it function sort of the same way as unplugging it without having to). My entire cable set up is super stupid and convoluted, and it's almost entirely because Nintendo's systems are LPCM surround sound only (you can't do surround LPCM via optical or ARC). I'll show you all how absurdly stupid my cable set up is, lol: https://i.imgur.com/wc30moO.png

A friend of mine looked at that and said it gave him anxiety just looking at it. But this is pretty much still the most affordable option with a lot of things to hook up. If you don't have Nintendo systems or you do and don't care about them having surround sound, you could just use ARC and good lord, wouldn't that be a hell of a lot simpler! That, or if you have a newer, possibly more sophisticated 4K/Atmos capable HDMI switcher, you probably won't even encounter this problem.
I have the Best Buy insignia 3-input switch connected to an ATV 4K, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch without issues.

Are your cables decent? I had issues earlier with 4K/Atmos detection because the HDMI cables I had were just those collected from whatever device I bought over the years.
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2006
L10: Grand Master
32,507 Posts
6,584 Reputation
Pro
#71
Quote from JasonW8093
:
question for those that own it. Is the HDMI cable in the box arc compatible?
I think that's a safe bet, most hi speed cables are fine for ARC. eARC on the other hand might be different. Movie night, have to see how the latest FW works on this SB. Maybe I'll even play some Xbox X, been awhile.
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2013
New User
4 Posts
10 Reputation
#72
Quote from likashing
:
I have the Best Buy insignia 3-input switch connected to an ATV 4K, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch without issues.

Are your cables decent? I had issues earlier with 4K/Atmos detection because the HDMI cables I had were just those collected from whatever device I bought over the years.
Yeah, they're fine, I tested everything multiple times just plugging directly into the bar and they were fine, and the three port switcher was also fine, so it's definitely the other 4k capable switcher that's at fault, at least I think so, since it was the only commonality I could find. It seems like a super isolated issue, though. I've never heard anyone else complain about it.
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2010
L1: Learner
12 Posts
31 Reputation
#73
I ran into Sam's today and purchased this setup, running off a TCL55-R625. Got home, set it up, played a music video and after fifteen seconds the sub dropped out. After trouble shooting for a hour and doing a factory reset, I couldn't get the unit to recognize the sub even though the rear satellite speakers were working. Was irritated and just watching TV and the sub cut on randomly for about three minutes and shut off. Using the speaker test function on the app and remote I only got the sub to activate once and that was when I first took it out of the box. Every other speaker tested properly but the Sub. Makes no sense since the sub controls the satellite speakers. Tested through ARC and optical. Returning tomorrow and going to try a second unit.
0
0
0
0
Reply
Last edited by scrage August 9, 2020 at 07:59 PM.
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Nov 2015
L2: Beginner
55 Posts
14 Reputation
#74
Quote from xyberz
:
I have a Vizio TV. It's my first and will be my last one. This thing sucks. The "Smartcast" service is horrible. I've had to hard reset that thing at least a handful of times now. Sometimes I turn my TV and only get sound but no picture so I have to turn it off and on again. It has a delay when turning on of at least 5 seconds so I'm not sure if it's on or not when I push the On/Off button on my remote.

Only reason why I even have this TV is because of the fact that it was a house warming gift from my mother. Other than that I would go back to my Samsung TV that I had. Originally paid $1400 for a 46" but it also had true 120hz motion so it was buttery smooth and it NEVER failed me once nor gave any issues. Been thru so many Superbowl parties and has always impressed. Only reason why I no longer have it is because I had to move from Hawaii to Vegas. Too expensive to ship.

Makes me wary of the Vizio brand name everytime I see their products. So many people I hear saying that speakers cut out and connectivity issues. I'd be willing to pay a little more money for a better brand unless if this is a deal that couldn't be missed.
Facing same issues with the TV I bought 2 months back... no pictures, on off is confusing and remote doesn't work sometimes...all works fine after restarts. One strange issue is that remote mess with tower fan i had from Costco!!!!!

I also own bose 700 and that has issues too. I dont think i will spend more than $200 on soundbar system bcz they all sucks. Better to buy receiver and speaker which is easy to upgrades in parts and goes for ages
0
0
0
0
Reply
Last edited by Snt1395 September 5, 2020 at 10:27 AM.
Page 5 of 5
1 2 3 4 5
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 

Shop More Black Friday Deals

Link Copied to Clipboard