Forum Thread

Receive Amazon gift cards for reviewing software

-3 Deal Score
7,652 Views
I debated about posting this, as I am re-reading my title and it sounds like the start of a spam email. However,I decided to go ahead and do it, since it truely does work.

When browsing Facebook, I always see ads for "free money by doing xyz" and normally ignore them. For some reason, I decided to click on the two sites I am listing below. Both are more or less identical, i.e. post a review on software, receive a gift card (Starbucks , Amazon etc..).

For both, each review took about 5 minutes, the hardest part was finding software to review. Both took about 3 days to look over the reviews and send out the gift cards. All of my submissions were accepted and paid out as promised.

Again, this is NOT a shill posting, I am in no way affiliated with either company, other than they seem to enjoy giving me gift cards for a tiny amount of work. I just wanted to pass them along in case anyone else saw ads for them and wondered if they were legit companies .

Capterra https://www.capterra.com/
FAQ - https://www.capterra.com/reviews/faqs-reviewers
For my first review , I earned a $10 Amz GC, and $5 for each additional (I have done 5 more and ran out of things to review). I think you can go up to $50 total

G2 - https://www.g2.com/wizard/new-review/
This one is a tiny bit more complex, as you have to take an actual screenshot of the software, but the rest is fairly painless. If I remember, I think I got a $10 Amz GC for each review, up to 5.



Enjoy!

EDIT: I added some pictures of the gift card emails I received. Again, not shilling, spamming etc.. just trying to pass along a rather easy way to make a little extra money!

EDIT #2 , i am not sure why this posting is not gaining traction. It was literally about 10-20 minutes of my time to get close to $100 in Amazon Gift cards. To the people who say their firewalls block these sites, here are some additional details.

Capterra - Bought by Gartner in 2015. Also plenty of news coverage by reputable sources.

G2 - Tech Crunch review - https://techcrunch.com/2017/05/24...-and-more/

Quote from bc0003
:
I have used G2 before, a few months ago.
I think it was a $15 dollar Starbucks gift card for the first review, and then $5 for each subsequent review for a total of 5 reviews. I had plenty of software to review from work, so I did it.
Really easy, just give your opinion. A few times they wanted a screenshot and they were being picky because I didn't want to give too much information about where I work.. but they did pay up and customer service was nice and responsive. just my 2 cents.
EDIT #3. Here is a reddit thread that has a potential incentive link for Capterra. It appears you may have to use that to get the gift card payout. If that does not work, try viewing the capterra sites (and G2) and then go to facebook. You should see a targeted ad for their site. I still see it even though I clicked on it a long time ago.
https://www.reddit.com/r/beermone...bsurd_100/
Share
Good deal?
You gave thanks to Cobalt_Blue_FF for this post.
Thank you!
Cobalt_Blue_FF posted this deal. Say thanks!
Add Comment
in Finance (2)
If you purchase something through a post on our site, Slickdeals may get a small share of the sale.
Deal
Score
-3
7,652 Views

16 Comments

1 2

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2006
L6: Expert
1,321 Posts
266 Reputation
#2
Do they reimburse you for the cost of the software, or do they have freeware/shareware as well?
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2005
L7: Teacher
2,424 Posts
4,554 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#3
Quote from pryan67
:
Do they reimburse you for the cost of the software, or do they have freeware/shareware as well?
Not sure... I just reviewed software my company already purchased and that I use on a daily basis. I imagine they will not give you any for free. However, you CAN review freeware, as one of my reviews was for notePad++, which is totally free.
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Apr 2019
L3: Novice
555 Posts
95 Reputation
#4
The fact that both are blocked by my work firewall is enough for me to say no.
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2005
L7: Teacher
2,424 Posts
4,554 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#5
Quote from CalmTable947
:
The fact that both are blocked by my work firewall is enough for me to say no.
You must have a strong firewall! Neither set off any flags on ours. I also have the malwarebytes extension installed and no issues there as well. When you sign up, you can use a throwaway account, I chose to use my linkedin signon as it was easier than typing in all of my info, getting a new pwd etc..
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jan 2014
L3: Novice
177 Posts
29 Reputation
#6
I have used G2 before, a few months ago.
I think it was a $15 dollar Starbucks gift card for the first review, and then $5 for each subsequent review for a total of 5 reviews. I had plenty of software to review from work, so I did it.
Really easy, just give your opinion. A few times they wanted a screenshot and they were being picky because I didn't want to give too much information about where I work.. but they did pay up and customer service was nice and responsive. just my 2 cents.
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Nov 2007
L1: Learner
11 Posts
14 Reputation
#7
Do you need to be targeted by them to receive gift cards for reviews?
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2005
L7: Teacher
2,424 Posts
4,554 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#8
Quote from jrivers13
:
Do you need to be targeted by them to receive gift cards for reviews?
Nope, not at all! I discovered them via a FB ad, but you can go directly to the website. Just make sure you put some thought into the reviews, as they will reject anything that sounds copy/pasted or not legit. Someone had mentioned that on one of the FB posts . Good luck!
0
0
0
0
Reply

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Mar 2019
L3: Novice
236 Posts
38 Reputation
#9
I don't like G2. Let me tell you why. They are incredibly cheeky about what they will accept as a valid review. The review I gave to them was both comprehensive and coherent. It was not copy and pasted across fields, plagerized, or sounding like spam. The time you spend writing the reviews is far less than what minimum wage pays, though it's an equally valid point that most internet work pays similarly as low. I wrote to them via snail mail, asking for my $5 Starbucks gift card. As you can see, I was very determined to get a gift card for the work I put in.

They produced a video showing some of the reviews they've rejected, and it certainly makes sense that they rejected them, but sometimes they don't make the right call and that will make you pissed if and when it's you. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bu_oG7Hhfe0
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2005
L7: Teacher
2,424 Posts
4,554 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#10
Quote from SlickDealir
:
I don't like G2. Let me tell you why. They are incredibly cheeky about what they will accept as a valid review. The review I gave to them was both comprehensive and coherent. It was not copy and pasted across fields, plagerized, or sounding like spam. The time you spend writing the reviews is far less than what minimum wage pays, though it's an equally valid point that most internet work pays similarly as low. I wrote to them via snail mail, asking for my $5 Starbucks gift card. As you can see, I was very determined to get a gift card for the work I put in.

They produced a video showing some of the reviews they've rejected, and it certainly makes sense that they rejected them, but sometimes they don't make the right call and that will make you pissed if and when it's you. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bu_oG7Hhfe0
Yea I agree it must be some sort of random audit. The reviews I submitted , while not total garbage, were not polished at all. I was actually surprised when I received the approvals to be honest. Capterra was even more forgiving, as they seemed to accept anything I threw at them. Hopefully they pay up for you!
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2019
L2: Beginner
66 Posts
58 Reputation
#11
I went to capterra and started to leave a review (I use a lot of most likely less common software at work- autocad, solidworks etc) but there was no indication that I was going to receive any payment for it. Are you sure this isn't targeted?
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2005
L7: Teacher
2,424 Posts
4,554 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#12
Quote from AMk9V
:
I went to capterra and started to leave a review (I use a lot of most likely less common software at work- autocad, solidworks etc) but there was no indication that I was going to receive any payment for it. Are you sure this isn't targeted?
I do not think it is targeted. I clicked on a link via facebook, signed up using my LinkedIn account, and left a review. It also did not say anything about the GC, but about 3 days later I recieved the GC email from them. Per the FAQ [capterra.com]:

I left a review but didn't receive a gift card! Why not?
For those reviewers who submitted a review as part of an incentive program, please keep a few key points in mind:

Quote :
Only published reviews are eligible for an incentive. If a review did not meet our Guidelines and was not published, the reviewer will not be eligible for an incentive for that review. We do, however, encourage that reviewer to submit reviews in future incentivized review campaigns they remain eligible for.
Gift cards are automatically fulfilled by our system at set times. In order to minimize error, our system automatically fulfills gift cards at periodic intervals.
However, it also states that

Quote :
Ensure that the email link to which you responded contained an incentive offer. Only reviews that are submitted after clicking on an incentive link in an email are eligible for an incentive. These links contain tracking information that allows us to match the incentive to the submitted review. If you did not click on a link in the campaign email, our system has no way to know that you left the review.
I wonder if the facebook ad was the incentive link? I do not remember having a link for the subsequent reviews either, I thought I just went to the site, but I may be wrong. Here is an addition reddit thread with some more details.

https://www.reddit.com/r/beermone...bsurd_100/

For G2, i know I constantly see their ad on facebook. So maybe you can browse the Capterra site a bit (and G2) and then go back to facebook and see if the ads pop up.
I hope that helps!
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2005
L7: Teacher
2,424 Posts
4,554 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#13
Quote from AMk9V
:
I went to capterra and started to leave a review (I use a lot of most likely less common software at work- autocad, solidworks etc) but there was no indication that I was going to receive any payment for it. Are you sure this isn't targeted?
Also, the reddit thread i posted above seems to have an incentive link you can use. I will update the OP with that thread. Thanks!
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2019
L2: Beginner
66 Posts
58 Reputation
#14
Quote from Cobalt_Blue_FF
:
Also, the reddit thread i posted above seems to have an incentive link you can use. I will update the OP with that thread. Thanks!
Yeah neither G2 or Capterra are having incentive programs right now, none of the links anywhere work. Sounds nice when they are though.
0
0
0
0
Reply
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2013
L6: Expert
2,440 Posts
257 Reputation
#15
Couldnt replicate the ad in any of these browsers (firefox, chrome, ie, edge) in fb or by clicking on the links above..
0
0
0
0
Reply
Page 1 of 2
1 2
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Frontpage Deal
$100 Credit
(Valid for Select Cardholders)
202 394
Frontpage Deal
$10 Credit
(Valid for Select Cardholders)
64 82
$0.00
4 5
$0.00
4 26
$0.00
9 19
Link Copied to Clipboard