Forum Thread

Receive Amazon gift cards for reviewing software

+1 Deal Score
2,047 Views
I debated about posting this, as I am re-reading my title and it sounds like the start of a spam email. However,I decided to go ahead and do it, since it truely does work.

When browsing Facebook, I always see ads for "free money by doing xyz" and normally ignore them. For some reason, I decided to click on the two sites I am listing below. Both are more or less identical, i.e. post a review on software, receive a gift card (Starbucks , Amazon etc..).

For both, each review took about 5 minutes, the hardest part was finding software to review. Both took about 3 days to look over the reviews and send out the gift cards. All of my submissions were accepted and paid out as promised.

Again, this is NOT a shill posting, I am in no way affiliated with either company, other than they seem to enjoy giving me gift cards for a tiny amount of work. I just wanted to pass them along in case anyone else saw ads for them and wondered if they were legit companies .

Capterra https://www.capterra.com/
FAQ - https://www.capterra.com/reviews/faqs-reviewers
For my first review , I earned a $10 Amz GC, and $5 for each additional (I have done 5 more and ran out of things to review). I think you can go up to $50 total

G2 - https://www.g2.com/wizard/new-review/
This one is a tiny bit more complex, as you have to take an actual screenshot of the software, but the rest is fairly painless. If I remember, I think I got a $10 Amz GC for each review, up to 5.



Enjoy!

EDIT: I added some pictures of the gift card emails I received. Again, not shilling, spamming etc.. just trying to pass along a rather easy way to make a little extra money!

EDIT #2 , i am not sure why this posting is not gaining traction. It was literally about 10-20 minutes of my time to get close to $100 in Amazon Gift cards. To the people who say their firewalls block these sites, here are some additional details.

Capterra - Bought by Gartner in 2015. Also plenty of news coverage by reputable sources.

G2 - Tech Crunch review - https://techcrunch.com/2017/05/24...-and-more/

Quote from bc0003
:
I have used G2 before, a few months ago.
I think it was a $15 dollar Starbucks gift card for the first review, and then $5 for each subsequent review for a total of 5 reviews. I had plenty of software to review from work, so I did it.
Really easy, just give your opinion. A few times they wanted a screenshot and they were being picky because I didn't want to give too much information about where I work.. but they did pay up and customer service was nice and responsive. just my 2 cents.
Share
Good deal?
You gave thanks to Cobalt_Blue_FF for this post.
Thank you!
Cobalt_Blue_FF posted this deal. Say thanks!
Add Comment
in Finance (2)
If you purchase something through a post on our site, Slickdeals may get a small share of the sale.
Deal
Score
+1
2,047 Views

Back To School Savings are here!

Get huge savings on laptops, notebooks, and other back to school essentials.

View the Deals

8 Comments

1

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Dec 2006
L6: Expert
1,301 Posts
258 Reputation
#2
Do they reimburse you for the cost of the software, or do they have freeware/shareware as well?
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2005
L6: Expert
1,344 Posts
2,393 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#3
Quote from pryan67
:
Do they reimburse you for the cost of the software, or do they have freeware/shareware as well?
Not sure... I just reviewed software my company already purchased and that I use on a daily basis. I imagine they will not give you any for free. However, you CAN review freeware, as one of my reviews was for notePad++, which is totally free.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Apr 2019
L3: Novice
260 Posts
39 Reputation
#4
The fact that both are blocked by my work firewall is enough for me to say no.
Reply Helpful Comment? 2 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2005
L6: Expert
1,344 Posts
2,393 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#5
Quote from CalmTable947
:
The fact that both are blocked by my work firewall is enough for me to say no.
You must have a strong firewall! Neither set off any flags on ours. I also have the malwarebytes extension installed and no issues there as well. When you sign up, you can use a throwaway account, I chose to use my linkedin signon as it was easier than typing in all of my info, getting a new pwd etc..
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jan 2014
L3: Novice
121 Posts
29 Reputation
#6
I have used G2 before, a few months ago.
I think it was a $15 dollar Starbucks gift card for the first review, and then $5 for each subsequent review for a total of 5 reviews. I had plenty of software to review from work, so I did it.
Really easy, just give your opinion. A few times they wanted a screenshot and they were being picky because I didn't want to give too much information about where I work.. but they did pay up and customer service was nice and responsive. just my 2 cents.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Nov 2007
L1: Learner
11 Posts
14 Reputation
#7
Do you need to be targeted by them to receive gift cards for reviews?
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jun 2005
L6: Expert
1,344 Posts
2,393 Reputation
Original Poster
Pro
#8
Quote from jrivers13
:
Do you need to be targeted by them to receive gift cards for reviews?
Nope, not at all! I discovered them via a FB ad, but you can go directly to the website. Just make sure you put some thought into the reviews, as they will reject anything that sounds copy/pasted or not legit. Someone had mentioned that on one of the FB posts . Good luck!
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Mar 2019
L2: Beginner
26 Posts
10 Reputation
#9
I don't like G2. Let me tell you why. They are incredibly cheeky about what they will accept as a valid review. The review I gave to them was both comprehensive and coherent. It was not copy and pasted across fields, plagerized, or sounding like spam. The time you spend writing the reviews is far less than what minimum wage pays, though it's an equally valid point that most internet work pays similarly as low. I wrote to them via snail mail, asking for my $5 Starbucks gift card. As you can see, I was very determined to get a gift card for the work I put in.

They produced a video showing some of the reviews they've rejected, and it certainly makes sense that they rejected them, but sometimes they don't make the right call and that will make you pissed if and when it's you. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bu_oG7Hhfe0
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
Page 1 of 1
1
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Copyright 1999 - 2019. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard