Forum Thread

Kindle AAPI Graphic Novel: Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir by Robin Ha - $1.99 - Amazon , Google Play, B&N Nook, Apple Books and Kobo

+5 Deal Score
3,738 Views
Amazon Kindle, Google Play, B&N Nook, Apple Books and Kobo have the eBook edition of Almost American Girl: An Illustrated Memoir by Robin Ha for $1.99

Amazon [amazon.com]
Google Play [google.com]
B&N Nook [barnesandnoble.com]
Apple Books [apple.com]
Kobo [kobo.com]

A powerful and moving teen graphic novel memoir about immigration, belonging, and how arts can save a life—perfect for fans of American Born Chinese and Hey, Kiddo.

For as long as she can remember, it's been Robin and her mom against the world. Growing up as the only child of a single mother in Seoul, Korea, wasn't always easy, but it has bonded them fiercely together.

So when a vacation to visit friends in Huntsville, Alabama, unexpectedly becomes a permanent relocation—following her mother's announcement that she's getting married—Robin is devastated.

Overnight, her life changes. She is dropped into a new school where she doesn't understand the language and struggles to keep up. She is completely cut off from her friends in Seoul and has no access to her beloved comics. At home, she doesn't fit in with her new stepfamily, and worst of all, she is furious with the one person she is closest to—her mother.

Then one day Robin's mother enrolls her in a local comic drawing class, which opens the window to a future Robin could never have imagined.

This nonfiction graphic novel with four starred reviews is an excellent choice for teens and also accelerated tween readers, both for independent reading and units on immigration, memoirs, and the search for identity.
Share
Good deal?
You gave thanks to megakimcheelove | Staff for this post.
Thank you!
megakimcheelove | Staff posted this deal. Say thanks!
Add Comment
in Books & Magazines (6)
If you purchase something through a post on our site, Slickdeals may get a small share of the sale.
Deal
Score
+5
3,738 Views
About the OP
Send Message
Deal Editor
Anywhere with an aperitivo Joined Nov 2008 Slickdeals Editor Alternative Fact <> Truth
21,232 Reputation Points
1,189 Deals Posted
1,905 Votes Submitted
7,766 Comments Posted
Don't have Amazon Prime? Students can get a free 6-Month Amazon Prime trial with free 2-day shipping, unlimited video streaming & more. If you're not a student, there's also a free 1-Month Amazon Prime trial available.
Questions & Answers BETA
Ask our community of deal experts a question about this deal, product, or store.

0 Comments

Post to Q&A to get a quicker answer to your question!
Start the Conversation
Add a Comment
 

Trending Stores

Coupons for Popular Stores

More Books & Magazines Deals & Discounts

Link Copied to Clipboard

Slickdeals is community-supported. We may get paid by brands or deals, including promoted items.