Forum Thread

Be wary of VIP Outlet (vipoutlet.com)

269 47 May 3, 2016 at 04:25 AM in Review
Deal
Score
+1
88,787 Views

Thread Details

Last Edited by iIIusive May 3, 2016 at 06:01 AM
+1 Deal Score
88,787 Views
Hey, guys. A while back, someone posted about a New 3DS deal from a new store called VIP Outlet, and there's been a few other topics related to the site that have posters with a decent amount of feedback/posts saying they had no trouble using them.

Anyway, I saw that the New 3DS listed above went back up on their site a few days ago and decided to take a chance on it (using a temporary virtual card number, of course), but my order was literally cancelled within a few seconds of placing it. I didn't think it was a big deal at the time, especially since the 3DS listing in question completely disappeared from their site after I tried ordering it, but I was checking my credit card account this morning and noticed that they still charged me for it. I don't doubt that I'll have no trouble getting it overturned, but it's still a minor hassle and obviously doesn't speak well for the trustworthiness of their site.

If anyone else notices a good-looking deal from them posted on here, be wary (if the fact that it's a new site didn't set off any warning bells already!). Here are screenshots of my cancellation email (note the date) and the charge that showed up on my credit card a few days later, if anyone would like proof of what I'm claiming:

Share
Good deal?
You gave rep to iIIusive for this post.
Thank you!
iIIusive posted this deal. Say thanks!
Give Rep Points

98 Comments

1 2 3 4 5

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined May 2016
New User
1 Posts
10 Reputation
#2
Quote from iIIusive
:
Hey, guys. A while back, someone posted about a New 3DS deal from a new store called VIP Outlet, and there's been a few other topics related to the site that have posters with a decent amount of feedback/posts saying they had no trouble using them.

Anyway, I saw that the New 3DS listed above went back up on their site a few days ago and decided to take a chance on it (using a temporary virtual card number, of course), but my order was literally cancelled within a few seconds of placing it. I didn't think it was a big deal at the time, especially since the 3DS listing in question completely disappeared from their site after I tried ordering it, but I was checking my credit card account this morning and noticed that they still charged me for it. I don't doubt that I'll have no trouble getting it overturned, but it's still a minor hassle and obviously doesn't speak well for the trustworthiness of their site.

If anyone else notices a good-looking deal from them posted on here, be wary (if the fact that it's a new site didn't set off any warning bells already!). Here are screenshots of my cancellation email (note the date) and the charge that showed up on my credit card a few days later, if anyone would like proof of what I'm claiming:

Dear Customer,

We apologize that you have had problems with our checkout system. Unfortunately, your transaction was flagged as potentially fraudulent by our order verification system. Normally, our credit card processor immediately releases the amount charged back to your card however in this case since you used a "gift credit card" more time was needed for the charge to settle.

Our products are sold on multiple platforms including Walmart.com. When you returned to our site and saw that the game system was no longer for sale it's because it was sold via one of our other fulfillment channels. When you are in the checkout process your item is made unavailable to other shoppers and is attached to you as you move through the checkout ... however if a transaction has completed unsuccessfully (or cancelled) the product is then returned to the pool of available products to be sold via all of our online channels.

Respectfully,
VIP Outlet Customer Support

Quote from iIIusive
:
Hey, guys. A while back, someone posted about a New 3DS deal from a new store called VIP Outlet, and there's been a few other topics related to the site that have posters with a decent amount of feedback/posts saying they had no trouble using them.

Anyway, I saw that the New 3DS listed above went back up on their site a few days ago and decided to take a chance on it (using a temporary virtual card number, of course), but my order was literally cancelled within a few seconds of placing it. I didn't think it was a big deal at the time, especially since the 3DS listing in question completely disappeared from their site after I tried ordering it, but I was checking my credit card account this morning and noticed that they still charged me for it. I don't doubt that I'll have no trouble getting it overturned, but it's still a minor hassle and obviously doesn't speak well for the trustworthiness of their site.

If anyone else notices a good-looking deal from them posted on here, be wary (if the fact that it's a new site didn't set off any warning bells already!). Here are screenshots of my cancellation email (note the date) and the charge that showed up on my credit card a few days later, if anyone would like proof of what I'm claiming:

Dear Customer,


We apologize that you have had problems with our checkout system. Unfortunately, your transaction was flagged as potentially fraudulent by our order verification system. Normally, our credit card processor immediately releases the amount charged back to your card however in this case since you used a "gift credit card" more time was needed for the charge to settle.

Our products are sold on multiple platforms including Walmart.com. When you returned to our site and saw that the game system was no longer for sale it's because it was sold via one of our other fulfillment channels. When you are in the checkout process your item is made unavailable to other shoppers and is attached to you as you move through the checkout ... however if a transaction has completed unsuccessfully (or cancelled) the product is then returned to the pool of available products to be sold via all of our online channels.

Respectfully,
VIPOutlet.com Customer Support
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 2
Last edited by vipoutlet.com May 9, 2016 at 12:13 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined May 2013
L3: Novice
269 Posts
47 Reputation
Original Poster
Our community has rated this post as helpful. If you agree, why not rep iIIusive?
#3
That's not actually what happened, as I was using a credit card I've been using for over seven years (just a virtual number, which has never given me trouble elsewhere), and as I pointed out, the listing completely disappeared literally as soon as I finished ordering; I didn't come back later and check, it was immediate.

The charge still hasn't been refunded, and it's been ten days now. Not a great way to build consumer confidence.
Reply Helpful Comment? 4 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined May 2013
L3: Novice
269 Posts
47 Reputation
Original Poster
Our community has rated this post as helpful. If you agree, why not rep iIIusive?
#4
Just popping in for a quick update. As you can see, it's been almost a month and a half since this happened and VIP Outlet has still not refunded my money. My credit card company gives companies a couple of months to respond to charge disputes, and they are of course not responding to it, so they've essentially taken my $120 and are waiting for as long as possible to give it back. At this point, I would without a doubt say to never buy from them, but it's your choice if you want to gamble.
Reply Helpful Comment? 10 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2016
New User
1 Posts
10 Reputation
Our community has rated this post as helpful. If you agree, why not rep Grzesio?
#5
I agree with u 100 percent I ordered I and paid for a Samsung galaxy tab s2 32gb and they send me a Samsung galaxy s only 16gb which is a year older and now they won't sent the correct one and want me to send this one back before I even get my money back. I'm scared to send it back and then end up with no money back or anything else even old galaxy s is better thannothing. I will never deal with them again and I can't believe walmart let's them sell from their website. If they were honest they would excha8the correct galaxy s2 tablet I ordered and take back the old galaxy tab that's 1 to 2 years older and sells for about $150 CHEAPER WHAT RIP OFF
Reply Helpful Comment? 8 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Mar 2007
L6: Expert
1,023 Posts
89 Reputation
#6
I bought 2 New 3DS's from here.
Returned one and got the refund within like a week or two after the return.
Didn't have any problems with them.
The 3DS probably disappeared because of their stock.
As soon as I purchased my 3DS, i couldn't find it again until a couple days later.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Jul 2016
New User
2 Posts
10 Reputation
#7
Hi. I am also having problems with this "company." I returned the refurbished laptop that I ordered from them through VipOutlet, and I just received an email stating that I didn't return the correct computer. This is IMPOSSIBLE! It's not like I have laptops laying around my house! This company is obviously running a fraudulent business, and something needs to be done. I filed my complaint with the Better Business Bureau, but I'm not sure what else I can do. Have you gotten your money back yet?
Reply Helpful Comment? 3 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Sep 2016
New User
11 Posts
10 Reputation
#8
Quote from iIIusive
:
Just popping in for a quick update. As you can see, it's been almost a month and a half since this happened and VIP Outlet has still not refunded my money. My credit card company gives companies a couple of months to respond to charge disputes, and they are of course not responding to it, so they've essentially taken my $120 and are waiting for as long as possible to give it back. At this point, I would without a doubt say to never buy from them, but it's your choice if you want to gamble.
Quote from iIIusive
:
Just popping in for a quick update. As you can see, it's been almost a month and a half since this happened and VIP Outlet has still not refunded my money. My credit card company gives companies a couple of months to respond to charge disputes, and they are of course not responding to it, so they've essentially taken my $120 and are waiting for as long as possible to give it back. At this point, I would without a doubt say to never buy from them, but it's your choice if you want to gamble.
Hello I'm very sorry to hear that you experienced these issues with our company. I would like to personally help you with the problem that you had if you could please contact us at 888-792-7372 (EXT-1) or you can email us at support@vipoutlet.com. I want to make sure that you were refunded correctly and to make sure that the problem has been solved. When you do contact us please have your order number ready so we can assist you the best way possible. Our hours of operation are from 8:30am to 8:00pm EST Mon-Friday.

Quote from iIIusive
:
Just popping in for a quick update. As you can see, it's been almost a month and a half since this happened and VIP Outlet has still not refunded my money. My credit card company gives companies a couple of months to respond to charge disputes, and they are of course not responding to it, so they've essentially taken my $120 and are waiting for as long as possible to give it back. At this point, I would without a doubt say to never buy from them, but it's your choice if you want to gamble.

Hello I'm very sorry to hear that you experienced these issues with our company. I would like to personally help you with the problem that you had if you could please contact us at 888-792-7372 (EXT-1) or you can email us at support@vipoutlet.com. I want to make sure that you were refunded correctly and to make sure that the problem has been solved. When you do contact us please have your order number ready so we can assist you the best way possible. Our hours of operation are from 8:30am to 8:00pm EST Mon-Friday.
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 2
Last edited by VipOutletSupport September 28, 2016 at 10:30 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Sep 2016
New User
11 Posts
10 Reputation
#9
Quote from Grzesio
:
I agree with u 100 percent I ordered I and paid for a Samsung galaxy tab s2 32gb and they send me a Samsung galaxy s only 16gb which is a year older and now they won't sent the correct one and want me to send this one back before I even get my money back. I'm scared to send it back and then end up with no money back or anything else even old galaxy s is better thannothing. I will never deal with them again and I can't believe walmart let's them sell from their website. If they were honest they would excha8the correct galaxy s2 tablet I ordered and take back the old galaxy tab that's 1 to 2 years older and sells for about $150 CHEAPER WHAT RIP OFF
Dear Customer,

I would like to apologize for any problems this might have caused you. I will be more than glad to help you with this situation if you could please contact us at 888-792-7372 or email us at Support@VipOutlet.com. Our hours of Operations are from 8:30am to 8:00pm EST Monday-Friday. When contacting us please have your order number ready so we can help you as quickly and efficiently as possible. Again, I would like to apologize for sending you the wrong product sometimes these mistakes can happen but I assure we will take care of you. I will be more than glad to issue you a refund I would just need more information. We will provide you with the prepaid shipping label to return your order back and a RMA number will be issued and we will issue you a replacement or a refund depending on what you want.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 2
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Sep 2016
New User
11 Posts
10 Reputation
#10
Quote from TBrice82
:
Hi. I am also having problems with this "company." I returned the refurbished laptop that I ordered from them through VipOutlet, and I just received an email stating that I didn't return the correct computer. This is IMPOSSIBLE! It's not like I have laptops laying around my house! This company is obviously running a fraudulent business, and something needs to be done. I filed my complaint with the Better Business Bureau, but I'm not sure what else I can do. Have you gotten your money back yet?
Hello Customer,

Tiffany I'm sorry for this confusion but as soon as our representative confirmed that you sent the right item we refunded your full order amount the same day. If there is any anything else we can help you with please feel free to let us know.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Oct 2016
New User
1 Posts
10 Reputation
#11
warning do not use Walmart dot com because it will nott help you get your money back they will tell you that you purchased it from this company then to bad so sad for you
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Sep 2016
New User
11 Posts
10 Reputation
#12
Quote from RobertQ4132
:
warning do not use Walmart dot com because it will nott help you get your money back they will tell you that you purchased it from this company then to bad so sad for you
Hello Robert,

We are sorry for the confusion we might have caused you. I would like to let you know that Walmart can not provide a refund but we can assist you with that directly. Our warranty is 90 days for any technical malfunctions and we also provide a 30 day return policy for any reason the customer decides. We will also provide a pre paid shipping label once the customer contacts us or submits an RMA claim at rma.vipoutlet.com. Upon the order being returned to us a full money refund can be issued by Walmart.com to the original form of payment.

My name is Edwin and I will be glad to help you from here on out. Please contact us at 888-792-7372 or you can email us at support@vipoutlet.com. Our hour of Operations are from 8:30am to 8pm EST. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you so we could resolve this issue.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 1
Last edited by VipOutletSupport October 5, 2016 at 06:39 AM.
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Oct 2016
New User
2 Posts
10 Reputation
#13
Wow. I ordered a Galaxy Tab S from them through Walmart yesterday. I hope I don't run into any issues. Although it does seem that they are extremely willing to correct any problems, it would still be an aggravation to go through most of this. It should be here on Monday, according to the email. Crossing my fingers!
Reply Helpful Comment? 1 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Oct 2016
New User
2 Posts
10 Reputation
#14
Quote from TRP19430
:
Wow. I ordered a Galaxy Tab S from them through Walmart yesterday. I hope I don't run into any issues. Although it does seem that they are extremely willing to correct any problems, it would still be an aggravation to go through most of this. It should be here on Monday, according to the email. Crossing my fingers!

Forgot to add that I'm also worried about the quality of their "reurbished" products after reading reviews of other refurbished products from them. According to other people, I should be expecting something more along the lines of "used" condition instead of refurbished. Frankly, that shouldn't even be a question. Until this product, I've purchased multiple refurbished tablets DIRECTLY through Walmart and not one of their retails, like vip outlet. Each one was IN LIKE NEW CONDITION.

I am expecting the same from VIP OUTLET. If there's even a question about its physical appearance or operation, it will be going back. IMHO, it should be equal to every other refurbished tablet as far as looks, operation, etc...

Should I be expecting anything different? Am I being unreasonable at all?
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 0
This comment has been rated as unhelpful by Slickdeals users
Joined Sep 2016
New User
11 Posts
10 Reputation
#15
Quote from TRP19430
:
Forgot to add that I'm also worried about the quality of their "reurbished" products after reading reviews of other refurbished products from them. According to other people, I should be expecting something more along the lines of "used" condition instead of refurbished. Frankly, that shouldn't even be a question. Until this product, I've purchased multiple refurbished tablets DIRECTLY through Walmart and not one of their retails, like vip outlet. Each one was IN LIKE NEW CONDITION.

I am expecting the same from VIP OUTLET. If there's even a question about its physical appearance or operation, it will be going back. IMHO, it should be equal to every other refurbished tablet as far as looks, operation, etc...

Should I be expecting anything different? Am I being unreasonable at all?
Dear Customer,

Hello,

Thank you for your inquiry! All items sold by us are refurbished by us as well as other trusted professional refurbishment companies and are all done following the standards of the manufacturer. We test and recondition these products to ensure full functionality according to the original manufacturer's specifications. Our Grade A refurbished items that we sell look like new and function as new, they come in both original packaging and non-original packaging. These products include all of the accessories a new product would, with the exception of a manual which could be located on the manufacturer's website.

All of our products are covered by a 90-Day Warranty/30 Day Return Policy. If you would like to return your item and you are within 30 days of the purchase, and it is still in its original condition, you can request a return label and return the item. We provide a 90-Day Technical Warranty should anything go wrong with the functionality of this product.

I hope you enjoy your enjoy product and if by any means you have any questions please feel free to contact us at 888-792-7372 or email us at support@vipoutlet.com. I hope this message answered all of your questions. Have a Great day.
Reply Helpful Comment? 0 1
Page 1 of 7
1 2 3 4 5
Join the Conversation
Add a Comment
 
Copyright 1999 - 2018. Slickdeals, LLC. All Rights Reserved. Copyright / Infringement Policy  •  Privacy Policy  •  Terms of Service  •  Acceptable Use Policy (Rules)  •  Interest-Based Ads
Link Copied to Clipboard