Slickdeals is community-supported.  We may get paid by brands for deals, including promoted items.
Forum Thread

The Worlds Cheapest Smartphone Debuts in India for Rs. 251 ($4)

1,449 2,644 February 17, 2016 at 09:01 AM
A India based company named Ringing Bells introduces the Worlds cheapest smartphone Freedom 251 [freedom251.com] for $4(251 Indian Rupees) as part of "Make in India" Initiative. Would you buy a $4 smartphone ?

Freedom 251 Mobile Specifications :
  • 4 WVGA IPS Display
  • 1.3Ghz Quadcore Processor
  • 1GB / 8GB memory
  • 3.2 / 0.3 Camera
  • 1450 mAh Battery
  • Dual Sim
  • 3G
  • Android 5.1 Lollpop
  • 1yr warranty
I know this is not a big deal in US that is why posted in the Lounge.
Would you buy a $4 Smartphone If its available for you?
Yes (4)
57%
No (3)
43%
Not Sure (0)
0%
Return to Poll
About the OP
Joined Oct 2014 L6: Expert
2,644 Reputation Points
232 Deals Posted
471 Votes Submitted
1,449 Comments Posted

Your comment cannot be blank.

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

Joined Dec 2005
My # is bigger than yours
> bubble2 37,382 Posts
6,517 Reputation
SnakePlisken
02-17-2016 at 11:18 AM.
02-17-2016 at 11:18 AM.
Just wait on this, the price will drop when the new version comes out in a few months
Reply
Joined Oct 2004
L10: Grand Master
> bubble2 12,150 Posts
1,493 Reputation
Jabbit
02-17-2016 at 12:44 PM.
02-17-2016 at 12:44 PM.
This is Slickdeals, I ain't payin' retail.
Reply
Joined Dec 2010
Live Long And Suck It!
> bubble2 9,489 Posts
3,649 Reputation
Pro
CheapestGamer
02-17-2016 at 02:19 PM.
02-17-2016 at 02:19 PM.
That's about all these friggin' things are truly worth. Stick Out Tongue Yet people pay out the ass for a smart phone here. I wish some company would release unlocked phones at this price HERE.
Reply
Joined Jul 2013
Conservative with a gun
> bubble2 3,749 Posts
340 Reputation
Novakingwai
02-17-2016 at 05:28 PM.
02-17-2016 at 05:28 PM.
There's a whole reddit devoted to this phone. Long story short, either the company is scamming you or the phone will only be $4 in India, more to ship over seas.
Reply
Joined Oct 2014
L6: Expert
> bubble2 1,449 Posts
2,644 Reputation
Original Poster
Deekay_Deals
02-18-2016 at 06:36 AM.
02-18-2016 at 06:36 AM.
The site was stoned yesterday when it opened for pre-order. With tremendous interest in the phone, order confirmation stated the phone would take up to 4 months to deliver and they charge Rs. 40(70¢) shipping inside India.
Reply
Joined Oct 2015
Permanently Banned
> bubble2 77 Posts
12 Reputation
techky
02-18-2016 at 07:11 AM.
02-18-2016 at 07:11 AM.
This is new site and they are scamming , Below is the detail:

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.

Domain Name: FREEDOM251.COM
Registrar: BIGROCK SOLUTIONS LIMITED
Sponsoring Registrar IANA ID: 1495
Whois Server: Whois.bigrock.com
Referral URL: http://www.bigrock.com
Name Server: NS-1311.AWSDNS-35.ORG
Name Server: NS-1974.AWSDNS-54.CO.UK
Name Server: NS-662.AWSDNS-18.NET
Name Server: NS-78.AWSDNS-09.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited https://www.icann.org/epp#clientT...Prohibited
Updated Date: 14-feb-2016
Creation Date: 10-feb-2016
Expiration Date: 10-feb-2017

>>> Last update of whois database: Thu, 18 Feb 2016 13:43:29 GMT <<<
Reply
Joined Nov 2005
L10: Grand Master
> bubble2 39,439 Posts
5,562 Reputation
Dr. J
02-18-2016 at 07:15 AM.
02-18-2016 at 07:15 AM.
Quote from Novakingwai :
There's a whole reddit devoted to this phone. Long story short, either the company is scamming you or the phone will only be $4 in India, more to ship over seas.

Well that's the SALE price, that doesn't mean that's what it COSTS to make. IOW it may be selling at a loss for some reason.
Reply

Sign up for a Slickdeals account to remove this ad.

Joined Oct 2014
L6: Expert
> bubble2 1,449 Posts
2,644 Reputation
Original Poster
Deekay_Deals
02-18-2016 at 08:28 AM.
02-18-2016 at 08:28 AM.
Quote from Dr. J :
Well that's the SALE price, that doesn't mean that's what it COSTS to make. IOW it may be selling at a loss for some reason.
You are correct. Govt. of India is promoting an initiative called "Make in India [wikipedia.org]" which encourages businesses to manufacture in India instead of importing from China/abroad. The company "Ringing Bells" that released the mobile is part of the "Make in India" Initiative and Govt. should probably be subsidizing the phone via Tax breaks and subsidy. The main purpose of this phone is to reach Farmers with dedicated apps on agriculture.

And it is backed by Govt. of India so it is not a scam but as with all Govt. backed schemes it may take a hell lot of time to deliver the phones.(Currently shipping estimate stands at 4 months)
Reply
Joined Dec 2007
L8: Grand Teacher
> bubble2 3,619 Posts
273 Reputation
Kabn
02-18-2016 at 09:36 AM.
02-18-2016 at 09:36 AM.
Quote from techky :
This is new site and they are scamming , Below is the detail:

Whois Server Version 2.0

Domain names in the .com and .net domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.

Domain Name: FREEDOM251.COM
Registrar: BIGROCK SOLUTIONS LIMITED
Sponsoring Registrar IANA ID: 1495
Whois Server: Whois.bigrock.com
Referral URL: http://www.bigrock.com
Name Server: NS-1311.AWSDNS-35.ORG
Name Server: NS-1974.AWSDNS-54.CO.UK
Name Server: NS-662.AWSDNS-18.NET
Name Server: NS-78.AWSDNS-09.COM
Status: clientTransferProhibited https://www.icann.org/epp#clientT...Prohibited
Updated Date: 14-feb-2016
Creation Date: 10-feb-2016
Expiration Date: 10-feb-2017

>>> Last update of whois database: Thu, 18 Feb 2016 13:43:29 GMT <<<
coming from someone who supports a decent-sized IT shop, i can say from personal experience that, while a very recent registration is a flag, it can also be an indication that nobody told the sysadmin to buy the domain until a week before launch/announcement.
Reply
Joined Jul 2013
Conservative with a gun
> bubble2 3,749 Posts
340 Reputation
Novakingwai
02-27-2016 at 07:42 PM.
02-27-2016 at 07:42 PM.
Confirmed scam.
Reply
Page 1 of 1
Start the Conversation
 
Link Copied

The link has been copied to the clipboard.